People

Active Faculty

  • Saqer Almarri
    Email: salmarr1@binghamton.edu
    Adjunct Lecturer in Arabic. MA, 2012, Translation and Interpreting, The American University of Sharjah, UAE. Arabic linguistics, historical and contemporary translation theory, religious and juridical aspects of the history of translation in Arabic.
  • Tina Chronopoulos
    Email: tchronop@binghamton.edu
    Assistant Professor of Classics and Medieval Studies and Undergraduate Director of Classics, PhD 2007, King's College London, University of London. Classical/medieval Latin literature, lives of saints, transmission of classical literature, palaeography.
  • Omid Ghaemmaghami
    Email: omid@binghamton.edu
    Assistant Professor of Arabic and Undergraduate Director of Arabic Studies, PhD 2013, University of Toronto: Assistant Professor of Arabic, PhD, 2013, University of Toronto: Shīʿī Islam, Classical Arabic literature, Modern Standard Arabic, Islamic intellectual history, Islamic mysticism, Qurʾānic studies, Islamic eschatology, Comparative religion, Iranian studies, Persian-Arabic translation.
  • Jonathan Hills
    Email:  jhills@binghamton.edu

    Adjunct Lecturer, MPhil 2004 (Classics), University of Cambridge: Indo-European Linguistics: Origins and Development of Greek and Latin.

  • Gregory Key
    Email: gkey@binghamton.edu
    Lecturer in Turkish, PhD 2013, University of Arizona: Turkish linguistics, Ottoman Turkish, modern Turkish language, literature, culture.
  • R. Kevin Lacey
    Email: klacey@binghamton.edu
    Associate Professor of Arabic, PhD 1984, Harvard University: Arabic language and literature, Arabic language teaching, Islamic intellectual history, Islamic mysticism, Persian language and literature.
  • Talat Okby
    Email: tokby@stny.rr.com
    Adjunct Professor of Arabic. MLS, 1970, State University of New York at Albany. Classical Arabic poetry and multimedia
  • Zoja Pavlovskis-Petit
    Email: zppetit@binghamton.edu
    Professor of Comparative Literature and Classics, PhD 1962, Cornell University: Classical Greek and Latin literature, satire, irony, pastoral poetry, mythology.
  • Rania Said
    Email: rsaid1@binghamton.edu
    Adjunct Lecturer in Arabic, PhD candidate in comparative literature, MA 2013.   Agrégation in English Language, Literature, and Civilization, Ecole Normale Supérieure de Tunis, Tunisia.
  • Andrew Scholtz
    Email: ascholtz@binghamton.edu
    Associate Professor of Classics, PhD 1997, Yale University: Greek Literature
  • Randall D. Souza
    Email:  rsouza@binghamton.edu
    Visiting Assistant Professor, PhD 2014, University of California, Berkeley.  Ancient Sicily; human mobility, community and citizenship; Greek and Latin epigraphy.
  • John H. Starks, Jr.
    Email: jstarks@binghamton.edu
    Associate Professor of Classics and Department Chair, PhD 2004, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill: Non-Western Ethnicity in the Classical World, Greek and Roman Drama, Roman Historiography.
  • Mary Youssef
    Email: myoussef@binghamton.edu
    Assistant Professor of Arabic, PhD 2012, University of Wisconsin, Madison.

Emeriti

  • Gerald E. Kadish
    Email: kadishg@binghamton.edu
    Professor of History and Near Eastern Studies, PhD, 1964, University of Chicago: Ancient Egyptian
  • SauI Levin
    Distinguished Professor of Ancient Languages, PhD, 1949, University of Chicago: Comparative linguistics, early literature, Bible
  • Khalil I. Semaan
    Professor Emeritus of Arabic, PhD, 1959, Columbia University: Arabic and Islamic thought and letters
  • Daniel Williman
    Professor of Latin and History, PhD, 1973, University of Toronto: Medieval Europe; institutional and cultural history; Latin language and medieval Latin literature; history of European law; codicology and library history; paleography and diplomatics; Avignonese papacy, 1316-1420

Staff

Margaret Dwyer
Departmental Secretary
Email:   mdwyer@binghamton.edu
Phone:  607-777-6709
Fax:       607-777-6406

Classical and Near Eastern Studies
Binghamton University
PO Box 6000 - LT 1117
Binghamton, NY  13902-6000

Note:  E-mail faculty directly or Margaret Dwyer @ mdwyer@binghamton.edu

Last Updated: 8/28/15