Active Faculty

  • Saqer Almarri
    Email: salmarr1@binghamton.edu
    Adjunct Lecturer in Arabic, MA 2012, Translation and Interpreting, The American University of Sharjah, UAE. Arabic linguistics, historical and contemporary translation theory, religious and juridical aspects of the history of translation in Arabic.
  • Hilary W. Becker
    Email:  hbecker@binghamton.edu

    Assistant Professor of Classics, PhD 2007, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. Classical archaeology, Ancient economy, Ancient pigment studies, Ancient warfare, and epigraphy.

  • Jeffrey A. Becker
    Email:  beckerj@binghamton.edu
    Visiting Assistant Professor of Classics, Ph.D. 2007, The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. Classical archaeology, Mediterranean urbanism and architecture, Ancient geography, Archaeological methodology, Roman topography.
  • Tina Chronopoulos
    Email: tchronop@binghamton.edu
    Assistant Professor of Classics and Medieval Studies, PhD 2007, King's College London, University of London. Classical/medieval Latin literature, lives of saints, transmission of classical literature, palaeography.
  • Omid Ghaemmaghami
    Email: omid@binghamton.edu
    Assistant Professor of Arabic, PhD 2013, University of Toronto: Shīʿī Islam, Classical Arabic literature, Modern Standard Arabic, Islamic intellectual history, Islamic mysticism, Qurʾānic studies, Islamic eschatology, Comparative religion, Iranian studies, Persian-Arabic translation.
  • Gregory Key
    Email: gkey@binghamton.edu
    Lecturer in Turkish, PhD, 2013, University of Arizona: Turkish linguistics, Ottoman Turkish, modern Turkish language, literature, culture.
  • R. Kevin Lacey
    Email: klacey@binghamton.edu
    Associate Professor of Arabic, PhD 1984, Harvard University. Arabic language and literature, Arabic language teaching, Islamic intellectual history, Islamic mysticism, Persian language and literature.
  • Talat Okby
    Email: tokby@stny.rr.com
    Adjunct Professor of Arabic. MLS, 1970, State University of New York at Albany. Classical Arabic poetry and multimedia.
  • Zoja Pavlovskis-Petit
    Email: zppetit@binghamton.edu
    Professor of Comparative Literature and Classics, PhD 1962, Cornell University. Classical Greek and Latin literature, satire, irony, pastoral poetry, mythology.
  • Rania Said
    Email: rsaid1@binghamton.edu
    Adjunct Lecturer in Arabic, PhD candidate in comparative literature, MA 2013.   Agrégation in English Language, Literature, and Civilization, Ecole Normale Supérieure de Tunis, Tunisia.
  • Andrew Scholtz
    Email: ascholtz@binghamton.edu
    Associate Professor of Classics and Undergraduate Director, PhD 1997, Yale University. Greek and Latin language and literature; Greek and Roman rhetoric and culture.
  • John H. Starks, Jr.
    Email: jstarks@binghamton.edu
    Associate Professor of Classics and Chair of Department, PhD 2004, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. Non-Western Ethnicity in the classical world, Greek and Roman drama, Roman historiography.
  • Mary Youssef
    Email: myoussef@binghamton.edu
    Assistant Professor of Arabic, PhD 2012, University of Wisconsin, Madison. Arabic literature, Middle East Studies, Postcolonial Studies, Gender Studies, the Contemporary Egyptian Novel.

Last Updated: 9/26/16