People

  • Saqer Almarri
    Email: salmarr1@binghamton.edu
    Adjunct Lecturer in Arabic. MA, 2012, Translation and Interpreting, The American University of Sharjah, UAE. Arabic linguistics, historical and contemporary translation theory, religious and juridical aspects of the history of translation in Arabic.
  • Tina Chronopoulos
    Email: tchronop@binghamton.edu
    Assistant Professor of Classics and Medieval Studies and Undergraduate Director of Classics, PhD 2007, King's College London, University of London. Classical/medieval Latin literature, lives of saints, transmission of classical literature, palaeography.
  • Omid Ghaemmaghami
    Email: omid@binghamton.edu
    Assistant Professor of Arabic, PhD 2013, University of Toronto. Shīʿī Islam, Classical Arabic literature, Modern Standard Arabic, Islamic intellectual history, Islamic mysticism, Qurʾānic studies, Islamic eschatology, Comparative religion, Iranian studies, Persian-Arabic translation.
  • Gregory Key
    Email: gkey@binghamton.edu
    Lecturer in Turkish, PhD 2013, University of Arizona. Turkish linguistics, Ottoman Turkish, modern Turkish language, literature, culture.
  • R. Kevin Lacey
    Email: klacey@binghamton.edu
    Associate Professor of Arabic, PhD 1984, Harvard University. Arabic language and literature, Arabic language teaching, Islamic intellectual history, Islamic mysticism, Persian language and literature.
  • Talat Okby
    Email: tokby@stny.rr.com
    Adjunct Professor of Arabic. MLS, 1970, State University of New York at Albany. Classical Arabic poetry and multimedia
  • Zoja Pavlovskis-Petit
    Email: zppetit@binghamton.edu
    Professor of Comparative Literature and Classics, PhD 1962, Cornell University. Classical Greek and Latin literature, satire, irony, pastoral poetry, mythology.
  • Rania Said
    Email: rsaid1@binghamton.edu
    Adjunct Lecturer in Arabic, PhD candidate in comparative literature, MA 2013.   Agrégation in English Language, Literature, and Civilization, Ecole Normale Supérieure de Tunis, Tunisia.
  • Andrew Scholtz
    Email: ascholtz@binghamton.edu
    Associate Professor of Classics, PhD 1997, Yale University. Greek Literature
  • John H. Starks, Jr.
    Email: jstarks@binghamton.edu
    Associate Professor of Classics and Department Chair, PhD 2004, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. Non-Western Ethnicity in the Classical World, Greek and Roman Drama, Roman Historiography.
  • Mary Youssef
    Email: myoussef@binghamton.edu
    Assistant Professor of Arabic, PhD 2012, University of Wisconsin, Madison. Arabic literature, Middle East Studies, Postcolonial Studies, Gender Studies, the Contemporary Egyptian Novel
  • Lotfi Zekraoui
    Email:  lzekraou@binghamton.edu
    Adjunct Lecturer in Arabic, PhD Candidate in Translation Research and Instruction Program. Translation Workshop Supervisor, Arabic and French Interpreter, Fulbright Alumnus

Emeriti

  • Gerald E. Kadish
    Email: kadishg@binghamton.edu
    Professor of History and Near Eastern Studies, PhD, 1964, University of Chicago: Ancient Egyptian
  • SauI Levin
    Distinguished Professor of Ancient Languages, PhD, 1949, University of Chicago: Comparative linguistics, early literature, Bible
  • Khalil I. Semaan
    Professor Emeritus of Arabic, PhD, 1959, Columbia University: Arabic and Islamic thought and letters
  • Daniel Williman
    Professor of Latin and History, PhD, 1973, University of Toronto: Medieval Europe; institutional and cultural history; Latin language and medieval Latin literature; history of European law; codicology and library history; paleography and diplomatics; Avignonese papacy, 1316-1420

Staff

Margaret Dwyer
Departmental Secretary
Email:   mdwyer@binghamton.edu
Phone:  607-777-6709

Note:  E-mail faculty directly or Margaret Dwyer

Last Updated: 6/13/16