Faculty Areas of Affiliation and Research Clusters

Alphabetical Listing

Faculty

Joseph Church
Associate Professor, 19th century American literature, Literature and psychology. x2534
jchurch@binghamton.edu

Jaimee Wriston Colbert
Professor, Creative Writing, and Contemporary Literature. x6124
jcolbert@binghamton.edu

Marilynn Desmond
Distinguished Professor, Medieval literature, Classics and Medieval narrative, Narrative, Chaucer. x6408
mdesmon@binghamton.edu

Lois Einhorn
Professor, Rhetorical theory and criticism, Organizational communication. x6703
loiseinhorn1@gmail.com

Pamela Gay
Associate Professor; Associate Faculty, Creative Writing
pgay@binghamton.edu

Praseeda Gopinath
Associate Professor, and Graduate Director, English Department; 20th Century British Literature. x2033 gopinath@binghamton.edu

Maria Mazziotti Gillan
Professor, Poetry, Multicultural Literature, Contemporary Women Poets, and Working Class Literature. x6134
mgillan@binghamton.edu

Thomas Glave
Professor, Creative writing: Fiction; Caribbean and African American Literature, queer/ LGBT literature.  x2894
tglave@binghamton.edu

Mary Haupt
Lecturer, Print Journalism -- reporting, editing, feature writing, opinion writing. x2248 mhaupt@binghamton.edu

John Owen Havard
Assistant Professor, 18th-Century British Literature, Romanticism, Transatlantic Studies, Literature and Politics, Critical Theory. x2754
jhavard@binghamton.edu

Leslie Heywood
Professor, Sports studies, 20th-century literature, Feminist and critical theory, Cultural studies, Modernism/Postmodernism, creative non-fiction, environmental studies. x2104
heywood@binghamton.edu

Olivia Holmes
Associate Professor, English and Medieval Studies; Medieval Studies, Early Modern Studies, Gender and Sexualities, Rhetorical Discourse, Italian Literature, Troubadours, Authorship, Book History;  x5400
oholmes@binghamton.edu

Joseph A. Keith
Associate Professor, and Chair, Modern U.S. and British Literature, Culture of U.S. Imperialism, x2353 jkeith@binghamton.edu

Joe Leeson-Schatz
Director of Debate, Lecturer in English debate@binghamton.edu

Aja Y. Martinez
Assistant Professor, English Department and the Writing Initiative. x6126
amartine@binghamton.edu

Monika Mehta
Associate Professor, New Media & Film Studies; Cinemas in South Asia; Postcolonial Critique; Theories of Nation-State; Globalization, Diaspora and Cultural Production; Contemporary Critical Theory; Feminist and Sexuality Studies. x2318
mmehta@binghamton.edu

Robert Micklus
Associate Professor; Early American literature, Southern fiction, American humor. x2758
rmicklus@binghamton.edu

Jean-Pierre (Peter) Mileur

Professor, x6042
jpmileur@binghamton.edu

Surya Parekh
Assistant Professor, English
mparekh@binghamton.edu

Jessie Reeder
Assistant Professor
jreeder@binghamton.edu

Liz Rosenberg
Professor, English Department; Creative Writing. x2574 lrosenb@binghamton.edu

Michael D. Sharp
Lecturer, Medieval Literature. x2418
msharp@binghamton.edu

Jennifer Stoever
Associate Professor, African American Literature and Culture, 19th and 20th century American Literature, American Studies, Popular Music, Sound and Audio Culture Studies, and Race and theories of Representation. x5494
jstoever@binghamton.edu

Susan Strehle
Distinguished Service Professor, English Department; American literature, Contemporary fiction, Women writers. x2169 sstrehle@binghamton.edu

Elizabeth Tucker
Distinguished Service Professor and Undergraduate Director; Folklore, Fantasy. x4455 ltucker@binghamton.edu

John Vernon
Distinguished Professor, Modern literature, Creative Writing, Literature of the American West. x2750
fac026@binghamton.edu

Alvin Vos
Associate Professor and Master of Hinman College; Renaissance literature and culture, Shakespeare, Colonial/Post-colonial studies. x4716
avos@binghamton.edu

Andrew Walkling
Dean's Associate Professor of Early Modern Studies, English, Theatre, and Art History. x5251
walkling@binghamton.edu

Joseph Weil
Assistant Professor
x3367 
jweil@binghamton.edu

Bridget Whearty
Assistant Professor, English Department and Medieval Studies Program
bwherty@binghamton.edu

Gayle Whittier
Associate Professor, Creative Writing, Shakespeare, Selected aspects of modern literature. x2749
whittier@binghamton.edu

Lisa Yun
Associate Professor, Asian American literature, Asian diasporic studies, Comparative Ethnic Studies, Creative Writing, postcolonial literature, theory. x6405
lisayun@binghamton.edu

Alexi Zentner
Assistant Professor, Creative Writing.
azentner@binghamton.edu

Emeriti Faculty

David Bartine
Professor Emeritus, Critical theory, Cultural studies, Rhetorical theory, Modern poetry.
dbartine@binghamton.edu

Martin Bidney
Professor Emeritus, PhD, 1971, Indiana University: 19th-century English literature, Russian literature, Blake. mbidney@binghamton.edu

Charles A. Carpenter
Professor Emeritus, PhD, 1963, Cornell University: Modern Dramatic Literature ccarpen@binghamton.edu

Michael Conlon
Associate Professor Emeritus, Restoration and 18th-century British literature, Early modern novel, Satire, Jonathan Swift.
mconlon@binghamton.edu

Mario Di Cesare
Distinguished Professor Emeritus, PhD, 1960, Columbia University: Renaissance literature (European and English), epic poetry, 17th-century literature, Milton.

Vincent Freimarck
Professor Emeritus, PhD, 1950, Cornell University: American literature, 18th-century literature.

Rosalind Gabin
Associate Professor Emerita, PhD, 1961, University of California at Berkeley: Romance literature, rhetoric.

John H. Hagan
Professor Emeritus, PhD, 1957, University of Chicago: 19th-century novel (English, American and continental), some 20th-century novelists.

Elizabeth K. Hewitt
Associate Professor Emerita, PhD, 1969, State University of New York at Buffalo: Stylistics, modern poetry, modern literature, language.

Richard McLain
Associate Professor Emeritus, English language, Linguistics, Literary criticism, Modern literature.
rmclain@binghamton.edu

Francis X. Newman
Associate Professor Emeritus, Medieval literature. fnewman@binghamton.edu

Wilhelm F. Nicolaisen
Distinguished Professor Emeritus, DPhil, 1955, University of Tübingen: Language, folklore, names.

Richard P. Pindell
Associate Professor Emeritus, The Novel, Creative writing, Southern literature.

Bernard Rosenthal
Professor, English Department; Colonial and 19C American literature.  
brosenth@binghamton.edu

William V. Spanos
Distinguished Professor Emeritus, English Department; Postmodernism, Contemporary theory, New American studies. wspanos@binghamton.edu

Barry Targan
Professor Emeritus PhD, 1962, Brandeis University: British and American literature, creative writing.

Albert Tricomi
Distinguished Teaching Professor Emeritus, English Department; Renaissance drama, New historicism, Shakespeare.
atricomi@binghamton.edu

Grant Webster
Professor Emeritus, PhD, 1963, Ohio State University:18th Century English Literature, Landscape and Literature, Literature of the English Country House, Caricatures, Prints, and Book Illustration.
webster@binghamton.edu

Last Updated: 2/1/16