Established in 2002

2015 Natalie S. Harnett for The Hollow Ground (St. Martins Press)

Judge: Leslie Heywood

Finalists (in alphabetical order):

Ishmael Beah, Radiance of Tomorrow (Sarah Crichton Books)

Melanie Bishop, My So-Called Ruined Life (Torrey House Press)

Matthew Thomas, We Are Not Ourselves (Simon & Schuster)

Marilynne Robinson, Lila (Farrar, Straus and Giroux)

2014 Manuel Gonzales for The Miniature Wife and Other Stories from Riverhead Books

Judge: Christie Grimes

Finalists (in alphabetical order):
Ramona Ausubel for
A Guide to Being Born (Riverhead Books)
Ron Currie, Jr. for
Flimsy Little Plastic Miracles (Viking)
Pamela Erens for
The Virgins (Tin House Books)
Elizabeth Gentry for
Housebound (Lake Forest College Press)
Jesse Lee Kercheval for
My Life as a Silent Movie (Indiana University Press)
Mario Alberto Zambrano for
Loteria (Harper)

2013 Karen Brown for Little Sinners and Other Stories from University of Nebraska Press

Judge:  Joe Weil

Finalists (in alphabetical order):
Anna Funder for
All That I Am  (HarperCollins Publishers)
Barbara Kingsolver for
Flight Behavior (HarperCollins Publishers)
Attica Locke for
The Cutting Season (HarperCollins Publishers)
Eileen Pollack for
Breaking and Entering  (Four Way Books)
Matt Ruff for
The Mirage (HarperCollins Publishers)


2012 Meg Wolitzer for The Uncoupling from Riverhead Books (Penguin)

Judge:  Lois Roma-Deely

Finalists (in alphabetical order):
Mary Bucci Bush for
Sweet Hope (Guernica)
Lyn Di Iori for
Outside the Bones (Arte Publico Press)
Leah Hager Cohen for
The Grief of Others (Riverhead Books)
Valerien Nieman for
Blood Clay (Press 53)

2011 Jonathan Franzen for Freedom from Farrar, Straus, and Giroux

Judge:  Ashley Kesling

Finalists (in alphabetical order):
Lan Samantha Chang for
All is Forgotten, Nothing is Lost (W.W. Norton)
Margaret Dilloway for
How to Be an American Housewife (Putnam)
Minrose Gwin for
The Queen of Palmyra (Harper Perennial)
Jean Kwok for
Girl In Translation (Riverhead Books)
Josh Russell for
My Bright Midnight (Louisiana State University Press)
Cathleen Schine for
The Three Weissmanns of Westport (Farrar, Straus, and Giroux)

2010 Jennine Capó Crucet for How to Leave Hialeah from University of Iowa Press

Judge: Joe Weil

Percival Everrett for
I Am Not Sidney Poitier (Southern Graywolf Press)
Stefanie Freele for
Feeding Strays (Lost Horse Press)
Mitch Wieland for
God's Dogs: A Novel in Stories (Southern Methodist Univ. Press)
Tracy Winn for
Mrs. Somebody Somebody (Southern Methodist Univ. Press)
Josh Weil for
The New Valley (Grove Press)


2008 Jonis Agee for The River Wife from Random House

Judge: Vivian Shipley

Adria Bernardi for
Openwork (Southern Methodist University Press)
Susan Muaddi Darraj for
Inheritance of Exile: Stories from South Philly (University of Notre Dame Press)
Kirk Nesset for
Paradise Road (University of Pittsburgh Press)
Enid Shomer for
Tourist Season (Random House)
Margot Singer for
The Pale of Settlement (University of Georgia Press)
Lynn Stegner for
Because a Fire Was in My Heart (University of Nebraska Press)

2007 Rachel Kadish for Tolstoy Lied from Houghton Mifflin

Judge: Grace Cavalieri

Gonzolo Barr for
The Last Flight of José Luis Balboa (Houghton Mifflin Co)
Cary Holladay for
The Quick-Change Artist (Swallow Press)
Todd James Pierce for
Newsworld (University of Pittsburg Press)
Terese Svoboda for
Tin God (University of Nebraska Press)
Robert Vivian for
The Mover of Bones (University of Nebraska Press)
Katharine Weber for
Triangle (Farrar, Straus, and Giroux)
Allen Wier for
Tehano (Southern Methodist University Press)

2006 Toni Graham for Waiting for Elvis from Leapfrog Press

Judge: Maria Gillan

Richard McCann
Mother of Sorrows (Pantheon Books)
Laila Lalami
Hope and Other Dangerous Pursuits (Algonquin Books of Chapel Hill)
Chantel Acevedo
Love and Ghost Letters (St. Martin's Press)
Paul Shepherd
More Like Not Running Away (Sarabande Books)
Joe Benevento
The Odd Squad (Behler Publications)
Paola Corso
Giovanna's 86 Circles & Other Stories (The Univ of Wisconsin Press)

2005 Mary Helen Stefaniak for The Turk and My Mother from W.W.Norton

Judge: Judith Kitchen

Gary Gildner
Somewhere Geese Are Flying (Michigan State University Press)
Judson Mitcham
Sabbath Creek (University of Georgia Press)
Janet Desaulniers
What You've Been Missing (University of Iowa Press)
Catherine Brady
Curled in the Bed of Love (University of Georgia Press)
Gilbert Sorrentino
The Moon in Its Flight (Coffee House Press)
Lan Samantha Chang
Inheritance (W.W. Norton)
Darrell Spencer
Bring Your Legs with You (University of Pittsburgh Press)

2004 Tobias Wolff for Old School from Alfred A. Knopf

Judge: Laura Boss

Jane Smiley
Good Faith (Alfred A. Knopf)
Susan Greenberg
Speed-walk and Other Stories (University of Pittsburgh Press)
Frederick Busch
A Memory of War (Norton)
Catherine Brady
Curled in the Bed of Love (University of Georgia Press)
Cristina Garcia
Monkey Hunting (Alfred A. Knopf)
Jonis Agee
Acts of Love on Indigo Road (Coffee House Press)

2003 Laura Valeri for The Kind of Things Saints Do from University of Iowa Press

Judge: Enid Shomer

James McBride
Miracle at St. Anna (Riverhead Books)
John Salter
Alberta Clipper (Livingston Press)
Andrew Geyer
Whispers in Dust and Bone (Texas Tech Univ. Press)
Martin Pousson
No Place, Louisiana (Riverhead Books)

2002 David Schmahmann for Empire Settings from Ten Pell Press

Judge: Rhoda Lerman

Daniel Coshnear
Jobs & Other Preoccupations (Helicon Nine Editions)
Ruth Hamel
My Favorite Lies, (University of Missouri Press)
Emily Hammond
Milk, (The Permanent Press)
Susan Hudson
Opposable Thumbs, (Livingston Press)
Nicholas Montemarano
A Fine Place, (Context Books)
Debra Spark
The Ghost of Bridgetown, (Graywolf Press)
Frederick Su
An American Sin, (Bytewrite LLC)

Last Updated: 9/29/16