Our graduates publish . . .

. . . often beginning while they are still here as students.


Current Graduate Students:

KEITH MONTESANO's first book of poetry, Ghost Lights, will be released by Dream Horse Press on May 15, 2010. It is being published as a finalist for the Orpheus Prize.

JOSE RODRIGUEZ has just had his first collection of poetry The Shallow End of Sleep accepted for publication in 2011 by Tia Chucha Press.

JOHN E. SMELCER's novel The Great Death was released by Random House in 2008 and came out in Books on Audio (Random House/Listening Library) in 2010. His new poetry book, Raven Speaks, will be published in spring, 2010 by Split Oak Press. He just signed a contract for his next novel, Edge of Nowhere (Random House/Anderson Books) due out at the end of 2010. Smelcer has just sold the foreign rights to his novel The Trap (Henry Holt, 2006) to a publisher in the Netherlands.

ANDREI GURUIANU has just published the poetry/photography collection How We Are Now (Split Oak Press, 2010) in collaboration with artist and photographer John Brunelli. He published two collections of poetry in 2009: and nothing was sacred anymore (March Street Press) and Front Porch World View (with interruptions) (Main Street Rag) and edited the anthology Twenty Years After the Fall (Parlor City Books, 2009) an anthology celebrating 20 years since the fall of communism. In 2008, he published the chapbook It Was Like That Once (Pudding House).  

GREG AMES's novel Buffalo Lockjaw was published in April 2009, was very favorably reviewed in Kirkus (starred review), The New Yorker, Booklist, and World Literature Today; Buffalo Lockjaw won the 2009 NAIBA Book of the Year Award;

SARAH JEFFERIS's first collection of poetry Forgetting the Salt was published by Foothills Publishing in 2008.

Recent Grads who published books while still students or shortly after completing their degrees:

MARGAUX FRAGASO, who finished her PhD in 2009 has sold her memoir Tiger, Tiger (which was her dissertation) to Farrar, Strauss;  already publishers in Italy, France, the Netherlands, and China have bought translation rights.

KATHERINE ARNOLDI,  winner of the 2007 Juniper Prize for Short Fiction, for All Things Are Labor; now on a Fulbright Scholarship for work on her next book; 

JENNIFER PASHLEY, author of the short story collection States, and winner of the 2009 Mississippi Review Prize for fiction;

METTA SAMA (formerly LYDIA MELVIN), author of South of Here (poems from New Issues Press) and currently director of Goddard College's BFA in Creative Writing Program;

DEBORAH POE, Our Parenthtentical Ontology (poetry from WordTech Press, 2008)--She is now an assistant professor at Pace University; 

JEREMY SCHRAFFENBERGER, Saint Joe's Passion (poetry from Etruscan Press, 2008); Jeremy is now an assistant professor of literature and creative writing at the University of Northern Iowa.

Aldo Alvarez, Interesting Monsters (Graywold, 2001) named one of the best story collections of the season by Washington Post Book World;

Susan Campbell Bartoletti, Black Potatoes: The Story of the Great Irish Famine 1845-1850 and Hitler Youth: Growing Up in Hitler's Shadow, a Newbery Honor Book;

Philip Brady won the Richard Snyder Publication Prize with Weal in 1999; Corrinne Clegg Hales won the same prize in 2001 with Separate Escapes; and Christine Gelineau won it in 2004 with Remorseless Loyalty.

Susann Cokal, Mirabilus (Putnam, 2002) and Breath and Bones (Unbridled Books, 2005).

Jane Alberdeston Coralin, Sister Chicas (Penguin, 2006; co-authored with L. Alvarado & A.H. Cardinal)

Angie Cruz, Soledad (Simon & Schuster, 2002) and Let It Rain Coffee (Simon & Schuster, 2005).

Chad Davidson, Consolation Miracle, winner of the 2003 Crab Orchard Prize while Chad was a grad student here; and The Last Predicta (So. Illinois Press, 2008).

Alicia Erian, The Brutal Language of Love (Random House, 2002) and her first novel, Towelhead, (Simon & Schuster, 2006) was made into a movie by Alan Ball;

Nancy Flynn, The Hours of Us (poems from Finishing Line Press, 2007); Nancy also winner of the James Jones First Novel Contest;

G.W. Hawkes, Surveyor (MacAdam/Page,2000); Gambler's Rose; Playing Out of the Deep Woods; Spies in the Blue Smoke; and Semaphore.

Anthony Lee, Martin Quinn (William Morrow, 2003).

Shara McCallum, The Water Between Us (1999 winner of the Agnes Lynch Starrett Prize); Song of Thieves (U of Pitt Press, 2003)

Tony Medina, Committed to Breathing (Third World Press, 2003); co-editor with Louis Reyes Riviera, of Bum Rush the Page: A Def Poetry Jam (Crown Publishing, 2001);


Last Updated: 7/27/16