Skip header content and main navigation Binghamton University, State University of New York - Ieec

Cover Photo 

Co-Chairs at 2014 Electronics Packaging Symposium

Session Co-Chair Co-Chair
Program/Keynote Bill Infantolino - Binghamton University Kaustubh Nagarkar - GE
3D-Packaging Shan Gao - Global Foundries Mike Delaus - Analog Devices
Thermal Challenges Milnes David - IBM Paul Chiarot - Binghamton University
Printed Electronics / Additive Mfg.
Jeff Erlbaum - GE Tim Singler - Binghamton University
Sensors / MEMS
Ertugrul Berkcan - GE Sherry Towfighian - BU
Mobile Electronics Jeff Leal - Speedline Technologies Liang Yin - GE
High Temperature Electronics Dave Shaddock - GE Junghyun Cho - Binghamton University
Flexible Electronics Christine Kallmayer - Fraunhofer Institute Mark Poliks - BU
Embedded Electronics Girish Wable - Jabil Nancy Stoffel - GE


Program   Co-Chair:

Bill Infantolino, Binghamton University, Associate Director IEEC

  Bill Bill Infantolino is the Associate Director of the Integrated Electronics Engineering Center at Binghamton University. He has over 30 years of experience in electronics packaging including nearly 25 years with IBM. He held a variety of engineering and management positions in the area of electronic packaging. The primary focus of his work was in the area of thermal and mechanical simulation and testing in support of product development, reliability evaluation, and solving manufacturing concerns. Bill also has held a variety of positions in laminate, module, and assembly product and process development. His experience spans a broad range of technologies in first level through system level packaging. Bill holds 11 patents in the area of electronic packaging and has over 15 papers published in journals and conference proceedings.
Program   Co-Chair: Kaustubh Nagarkur, GE Global Research, Systems Engineer
   Kaustabh NagarkurKaustubh Nagarkar is a Senior Engineer at GE Global Research. His research has focused on packaging and systems development/reliability in the areas of high temperature downhole electronics, subsea sensing, photovoltaics, and medical electronics. Kaustubh has 27 publications and 19 filed/issued patents. He is a member of ASME and IEEE. He completed his MS ('03) & PhD ('06) from Binghamton University.


Mike Delaus, Analog Devices , Wafer-Level Package Development Manager
  Mike Delaus manages the Wafer-Level Package Development Group at ADI. He received his B.S. degree in Materials Science Engineering from MIT in 1982. He joined the Advanced Process Development Group at Analog Devices as a front-end process development engineer in 1988. Since 2005, he has managed ADI's wafer-level package development activities, responsible for wafer-level and flip chip packaging as well as Through-Silicon Vias (TSVs) and 3D technologies.

Junghyun Cho, SUNY Binghamton University, Associate Professor

  ChoDr. Junghyun Cho is currently an Associate Professor, a Director of Graduate Studies in the Department of Mechanical Engineering, and a Director of the Materials Engineering Program at the State University of New York (SUNY) at Binghamton. He joined the University as an Assistant Professor in Fall 2001 after finishing a postdoctoral research appointment at the University of California, Santa Barbara. He received his B.S. in Metallurgical Engineering from Yonsei University (Seoul, Korea) in 1991, M.S. in Materials Science and Engineering from Northwestern University in 1993, and Ph.D. in Materials Science and Engineering from Lehigh University in 1998. Before starting his graduate studies, Dr. Cho had worked at Samsung Semiconductor R&D Center (Kihung, Korea) in the area of electronics packaging materials and processes (1990-91). His research interests include microstructure design and characterization of materials, ceramic thin films, processing science, and mechanical behavior of materials.


Mark Poliks, Binghamton University, Professor of Systems Science and Industrial Engineering
  Vivian RyanMark D. Poliks is a Professor of Systems Science and Industrial Engineering and Technical Director of the Center for Advanced Microelectronics Manufacturing (CAMM) at the State University of New York at Binghamton. He is an expert in electronics packaging, flexible electronics, materials, processing, rollto-roll manufacturing, in-line quality control and reliability. He has authored numerous technical papers and invited presentations.  He holds over forty US patents.

He has held senior technical management positions at Endicott Interconnect Technologies, Inc. and IBM Microelectronics.  He was a founding member of the IBM Materials Research Community and received an IBM award for "Excellence in Technical Management." Poliks received his Ph.D. in materials science and engineering from the University of Connecticut and held a McDonnell-Douglas postdoctoral fellowship at Washington University in St. Louis.

Co-Chair: Dave Shaddock, GE Global Research, Electronics Packaging Engineer
  Dave ShaddockDave Shaddock is an Electronics Packaging Engineer at the General Electric Global Research. He received a B.S.M.E. degree from Carnegie-Mellon University and M.S.Eng. Sci. in Microelectronics Manufacturing from Rensselear Polytechnic Institute. His research interests are in harsh environment electronics, thermal management, electronics manufacturing and reliability. He has 30 years of experience in electronics manufacturing and packaging at GE, Rockwell, and Motorola.
Co-Chair: Nancy Stoffel, GE Global Research, Manager of the Advanced Packaging Fabrication and Processes Group

Vivian Ryan

Nancy Stoffel has 20+ years of experience in materials and process development in the electronics packaging field. She currently manages the Advanced Packaging Fabrication and Processes Group at GE Global Research. Prior to joining GE, she was the Director of Microsystems Packaging at STC-CNSE a MEMS fabrication facility . She also held technical and management positions at Xerox Corporation and IBM, working on materials research and process development for electronic packaging and MEMS/microfluidic applications. Nancy received a PhD in Materials Science from Cornell University, and an MS from Columbia in chemical engineering. She is active in the IEEE ECTC, with the Emerging Technologies Subcommittee.

Binghamton University State University of New York
PO BOX 6000   Binghamton, NY 13902-6000

Last Updated: 7/24/14