Summer 2011

Presidential search continues

The search for a new president for Binghamton University continues, but with some changes. Kathryn Grant Madigan and James Orband ’81 will serve as co-chairs of the search committee; Madigan was chair of the first search committee.

In March, State University of New York Chancellor Nancy L. Zimpher rejected the presidential candidates put forward by the Binghamton University Council. Changes in the search process include periodic updates and discussions among the committee, the Binghamton University Council, the Chancellor and the SUNY Board.

Binghamton University President C. Peter Magrath also will assume a larger role in the search process by acting as consultant on committee and procedural issues. In March, Magrath agreed to stay on as president, no longer with the tag “interim,” through the end of the year.


Follow developments in the presidential search here.