DeFleur recognized for international leadership


       Binghamton University President Lois B. DeFleur has been selected by the National Association of State Universities and Land-Grant Colleges (NASULGC) Commission on International Programs to receive the 2007 Michael P. Malone International Leadership Award.

        The highly competitive award, established in 2000 to provide national recognition for outstanding contributions that further international education of state and land-grant institutions, is granted to those whose leadership has helped internationalize their campuses.

         C. Peter Magrath, senior presidential advisor to the College Board and former Binghamton University president, wrote in a letter of support that Binghamton “…is an international university at its core. The Malone Award recognizes ‘international leadership,’ and that is what President Lois DeFleur has exemplified with her work at a university that is a model that speaks powerfully to all universities.”

         Two signature programs that indicate the level of commitment DeFleur and Binghamton University have to internationalization are the Languages Across the Curriculum (LxC) Program and the dual-diploma baccalaureate programs with Turkish universities. In addition, as one who personally believes in the value of learning about other countries and cultures, DeFleur has advocated for courses, research opportunities and extracurricular programs that will prepare Binghamton graduates “to be leaders with a global vision.”

         Under DeFleur’s leadership, the University has developed a variety of study-abroad options that offer opportunities to students not able to taken advantage of semester- or year-long programs; increased the foreign language requirement for graduation; and reinforced the value of internationalization in its strategic plan. 

         A pilot and the owner of a Comanche 260, DeFleur has flown for more than three decades and served as a Distinguished Visiting Professor at the U.S. Air Force Academy. A graduate of Blackburn College in Illinois, she received the MA degree from Indiana University and the PhD from the University of Illinois.

        She is one of three to be honored by the commission this year. The others are Diane Holland Rickerl of South Dakota State University and Richard E. Ewing of Texas A & M University.


Last Updated: 9/17/13