Binghamton University Alumni Association presents Special Recognition Awards


BINGHAMTON, NY – The Binghamton University Alumni Association presented its 2013 Special Recognition Awards at a ceremony on Saturday, April 27, held in the Mandela Room of the University Union.

The signature award recipients were:

Donna A. Lupardo, MA ’83
, who received the Edward Weisband Distinguished Alumnus/a Award for Public Service or Contribution to Public Affairs for her service as a New York State Assemblywoman, through which she has been instrumental in securing funds that will fuel the University's continued growth.

Sheldon Goldfarb ’73, who received the Glenn G. Bartle Distinguished Alumnus/a Award, for his achievements as an attorney in the financial services industry as well as his longtime support of Harpur College.

Arel Moodie ’05, who received the Lois B. DeFleur Distinguished Young Alumnus/a Award, for his inspiration to young adults as a motivational speaker and best-selling author.

In addition, the inaugural Medals of Distinguished Service were presented to the following alumni, recognizing their outstanding and tireless efforts as volunteers and advocates for the University, while excelling in their respective professional endeavors.

Richard L. Alpern, Esq. ’69

Jenny N. Barbee ’07, MS ’09

Daniel R. Black ’94

Elizabeth Kay Boland ’79, MS ’82

Bruce Cameron, MAT ’88

Howard B. Eisen ’87

Carl T. Ernstrom ’61

Dr. Joseph M. Kolly ’88

Elaine M. Miller, MA ’83

Donald A. Mones ’85

Dr. Hugo J. J. Uyttenhove, MS ’75, PhD ’78

Virginia P. Walker, MSW ’12

To learn more about the Alumni Association’s awards program, visit the “About Us” section of

Last Updated: 9/17/13