Active Alert: Classes canceled rest of today and tomorrow

B-ALERT:Due to forecast, all classes effective 4:30pm today Nov 25 are canceled. There will be no classes Wednesday Nov 26. Adjust travel plans accordingly.

Alert updated: Tuesday, November 25, 2014 3:50 PM

Binghamton University recognizes excellence


Binghamton University recently presented 24 awards for excellence in teaching, internationalization, professional, community and classified service.
The Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Teaching was presented to Nancy Appelbaum, associate professor of history; Charles R. Cobb, professor of anthropology; Joseph Graney, associate professor of geological sciences and environmental studies; Debi Mishra, associate professor of marketing; Solomon William Polachek, distinguished professor of economics with a joint appointment in political science; and Daryl Lee Santos, associate professor in the Department of Systems Science and Industrial Engineering.
The Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Scholarship and Creative Activities was presented to: John S. Bridge, professor in the Department of Geological Sciences and Environmental Studies; George Klir, distinguished professor of systems science; and Timothy Perry, professor of music.
The Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Faculty Service was presented to: Peter Knuepfer, associate professor of geological sciences and environmental studies; Richard Pastore, professor of psychology and linguistics; and Susan Strehle, professor and department chair of English.
The Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Professional Service was presented to: Allison Alden, assistant professor in the Master of Public Administration Program and director of the University’s Center for Applied Community Research and Development; Norman Quinn, associate director of computing services operations; and Nina Versaggi, adjunct associate professor of Anthropology and director of the Public Archaeology Facility.
The University Award for Excellence in International Education was presented to Dora Polachek, member of the Department of Romance Languages and Literatures.
The University Award for Excellence in Classified Service was presented to Deborah Bundy, staff member of the School of Management; and Bonnie L. Jenkins, supervising janitor of the University.
    The Binghamton University Council/Foundation Awards were presented to Albert Dekin Jr., associate professor of anthropology; and Evangelos Dousmanis, former University photographer.
The Edward Weisband Distinguished Alumni Award for Public Service or Contributions to Public Affairs was presented to Joseph Eron, ’80, associate professor of medicine in the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill’s division of infectious diseases.
The Glenn G. Bartle Distinguished Alumnus Award was presented to Ruben Santiago-Hudson ’78, acclaimed actor and screenwriter.
The Distinguished Service Award was presented to Raymond and Wanda Osterhout.

Last Updated: 9/17/13