Active Alert: Classes canceled rest of today and tomorrow

B-ALERT:Due to forecast, all classes effective 4:30pm today Nov 25 are canceled. There will be no classes Wednesday Nov 26. Adjust travel plans accordingly.

Alert updated: Tuesday, November 25, 2014 3:50 PM

Binghamton University recognizes 22 for excellence in teaching, research, professional and classified service


Binghamton University recently recognized 22 members of the campus community for excellence in teaching, research, professional and classified service. The awards were presented to recipients at a dinner on October 21.

The Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Teaching was presented to: A. Serdar Atav, associate professor of nursing; Jane Marantz Connor, associate professor of psychology; Surinder S. Kahai; associate professor of management; Joshua M. Price; assistant professor of human development; Deanne L. Westerman, assistant professor of psychology; and Melissa Zinkin, assistant professor of philosophy.

The Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Scholarship and Creative Activities was presented to: Christopher Fynsk, professor of comparative literature and of philosophy; Steven Jay Lynn, professor of psychology; and David Sloan Wilson, professor of biological sciences and of anthropology.

The Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Professional Service was presented to: Anita Knopp Doll, director of communications in the Office of University Communications and Marketing; and Mary D. Woolson, assistant vice president for development, Binghamton University Foundation.

The University Award for Excellence in International Education was presented to Marilyn Gaddis Rose, distinguished service professor of comparative literature.

The University Award for Excellence in Classified Service was presented to Roberta L. Brundege, secretary in the Decker School of Nursing; and Thomas McCabe, electrician in the Physical Facilities Department.

The Binghamton University Council/Foundation Awards were presented to Thomas F. Kowalik, director of the Office of Continuing Education & Outreach; Kelly M. Wemette, assistant for University planning and budget; and Stanley Masters, professor of economics.

The Edward Weisband Distinguished Alumni Award for Public Service or Contributions to Public Affairs was presented to Clyde J. Ikeda, MD. 

The Glenn G. Bartle Distinguished Alumnus Award was presented to Martin F. Triano Esq.

The Alumni Association Special Recognition Award was presented to Paula A. Brightwell and Gary C. Meltzer.

The Distinguished Service Award was presented to Burton I. “Bud” Koffman.

Last Updated: 9/17/13