Skip header content and main navigation Binghamton University, State University of New York - News
Binghamton University Newsroom
Binghamton University Newsroom


Student-athletes honored at 57th annual Varsity Awards Banquet

Women’s basketball’s Rachel Laws, shown with Director of Athletics Joel Thirer, was named 2003-04 Female Athlete of the Year during the 57th annual Varsity Awards Banquet May 9.
Binghamton University’s top athletes for the 2003-04 academic year were honored May 9 during the 57th annual Varsity Awards Banquet with more than 300 athletes, coaches, parents, staff and supporters in attendance.

The season proved to be one of BU’s most successful in its short three-year Division I history with two nationally-ranked teams in men’s soccer and men’s lacrosse, two NCAA tournament teams in men’s soccer and men’s tennis, four coach-of-the-year honorees and 50 all-conference athletes. BU athletics ranks among the top half of athletic programs in the entire nation and is among the top three in the America East Conference. “We’ve had a challenging year and you’ve all risen to the occasion,” Joel Thirer, director of athletics, told the student-athletes in attendance. “The cream rises to the top and you have done that. I salute you all.”

“Enjoy every moment because before you know it, you will be up here wishing you could put on your uniform one more time,” said senior women’s basketball player Nicole Dypolt, who served as student speaker. “As I stand here, I never thought I would be ending something I love so much.”

Highlights included recognition of BU’s 64 senior letter winners, team MVPs and Athletes of the Year. Major award winners included:

* Male Athlete of the Year: Graham Munro, men’s soccer.

* Female Athlete of the Year: Rachel Laws, women’s basketball.

* Jake Pitler Award: T.J. Kowalchuk, baseball.

* Jessie A. Godfrey Award: Kate Townley, women’s basketball.

* John Bilos Alumni Awards: Chris McGuire, men’s swimming; and Yun Qu, women’s swimming. * BUAC Citizenship Award: Justin Hoch, wrestling; and Shannon Kelly, volleyball. * ECAC Merit Medals: Allison Furey, women’s cross country and track; Dan Jordy, men’s cross country; Yun Qu, women’s swimming; Axel Hellstrom, men’s swimming; Laura Scordino, women’s basketball; Danielle Kosecki, women’s soccer; Shannon Kelly, volleyball; Kate Williams, women’s track and field; Lisa Kemmerer, women’s cross country, track and field; and Krishna Vallabhaneni, men’s tennis.

* Team MVP Awards: baseball – TBA; men’s basketball - Brandon Carter; women’s basketball - Rachel Laws; men’s cross country - Kellen Wadach; women’s cross country - Lindsey Bohrer-Yardley; golf - Keith Hendrickson; men’s lacrosse - Chris Healy; women’s lacrosse - Lauren Wetherell; men’s soccer - Graham Munro; women’s soccer - Tatiana Mathelier; softball - Jessica Chellis; men’s swimming and diving - Chris McGuire; women’s swimming and diving - Laura Linek; men’s tennis - Dan Hanegby; women’s tennis - Melis Altinay; men’s track and field - Rory Quiller; women’s track and field - Erica Angell; volleyball - Anne Crocus; and wrestling - Josh Ruff.
Connect with Binghamton:
Twitter icon links to Binghamton University's Twitter page YouTube icon links to Binghamton University's YouTube page Facebook icon links to Binghamton University's Facebook page Instagram

Last Updated: 10/14/08