Skip header content and main navigation Binghamton University, State University of New York - News
Binghamton University Newsroom
Binghamton University Newsroom


Faculty to elect six to presidential search committee

One vital component of the presidential search process is underway — the election of six faculty representatives to serve on the Presidential Search Committee.

Completed nominations of tenured, voting faculty to be eligible to serve on the committee are due from faculty by 5 p.m. Friday, Feb. 12. A list of completed nominations is available to faculty on the Web and is being updated as nomination forms are completed.

All voting faculty will receive an electronic ballot for the vote, which will begin on Tuesday, Feb. 16 and conclude at 11 p.m. Monday, Feb. 22, according to procedures developed by the Faculty Senate Executive Committee (FSEC). A memo outlining the process was sent to faculty last week by Richard Lee, professor of sociology and FSEC chair, and Sara Reiter, professor of management and Faculty Senate chair.

The SUNY Guidelines for Conducting a Presidential Search indicate that faculty representation should provide “a broad spectrum of faculty opinion,” a point that can’t be understated, according to Patrick Regan, professor of political science.

“This is a critical role for faculty,” he said. “Faculty on the search committee should represent a broad range of values that reflect the values of this institution.

“Research sits at the forefront of our mission with its strong link to teaching,” he noted, stressing the importance of full participation by faculty in the voting process. “The faculty who participate in selecting our next president need to represent and support the core mission of the University.”

According to the FSEC procedures, each member of the voting faculty can cast one vote for a nominee in each of the three Harpur divisions (Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science and Mathematics), and three votes at large for nominees from the other academic areas and units (the professional schools, library, and health and physical education).

The nominee with the most votes in each of the three Harpur divisions will be elected, and three nominees with the most votes outside of Harpur will be elected, with one stipulation, according to Reiter.

“Outside of Harpur, no more than one person can be elected from any one unit,” she said. “For example, if two people from Watson received the first and second-highest number of votes, only the one who received the highest number would be elected and we would move to the next-highest vote-getter from another unit.”

The six elected nominees would then be the faculty choices for service on the Presidential Search Committee, which will be chaired by Binghamton University Council Chair Kathryn Grant Madigan; this committee will have about 15 members in all.

Once the voting concludes, results will be announced via a memo to all faculty and on Dateline.

“This process should result in a balanced group, relative to all areas and programs,” according to Lee.

Connect with Binghamton:
Twitter icon links to Binghamton University's Twitter page YouTube icon links to Binghamton University's YouTube page Facebook icon links to Binghamton University's Facebook page Instagram

Last Updated: 10/14/08