Binghamton campus

Philosophy Department Faculty and Staff

Staff

Joy Tassey

   
 
Administrative Assistant

E-mail: jtassey@binghamton.edu

 

Rachel Crisman

   
 
Secretary

E-mail: rcrisman@binghamton.edu

 

Faculty

Jeffner Allen

 Jeffner Allen
  
Professor of Philosophy, Africana Studies, Philosophy, Interpretation, Culture (PIC), and Women, Gender and Sexuality Studies. Affiliated Faculty, Asian and Asian American Studies, Center for Korean Studies, Philosophy, Literature, Culture (PLC)

PhD Philosophy Duquesne University, 1973

Office: LT 1304
Phone: 73616
Email: jeffn@binghamton.edu

Research

Cultural Imaginaries and Representation, Trans-Genre Writing, Feminist and Lesbian Studies, Postcolonial Studies, Diasporic Literatures, Water and Environmental Studies, Transdisciplinary Studies, Multi-Platform Works, 20th and 21st Century European Philosophy

Curriculum vitae

Download CV (.pdf, 464.6kb)


Bat-Ami Bar On

Bat-Ami Bar On 
  
Professor of Philosophy and of Women, Gender, and Sexuality Studies
Director, Institute for Advanced Studies in the Humanities

Office: LT 1202
Email: ami@binghamton.edu
Personal webpagehttp://bingweb.binghamton.edu/~ami/Bat-ami_Bar_On/Home.html

Research

Social and political theory


Eric Dietrich

Eric Dietrich   

Professor of Philosophy

PhD Philosophy University of Arizona, 1986

Office: TU 10G
Phone: 607-777-2305
Email: dietrich@binghamton.edu
Personal website:  http://bingweb.binghamton.edu/~dietrich/About_Me.html

Research

Epistemology, Relativism, Metaphysics, Paraconsistent Logics, Philosophy of Mind Recent

Curriculum vitae

Download CV (.pdf, 195kb)


Charles Goodman

Charles Goodman 
  
Associate Professor, Philosophy and AAAS
 
PhD Philosophy University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, 2002
 
Office: LN 1214

Email: cgoodman@binghamton.edu
Personal website: http://bingweb.binghamton.edu/~cgoodman/

Research

Asian Philosophy, Comparative Ethics, Metaphysics

Curriculum vitae

Download CV (.pdf, 263.4kb)


Robert Guay

 Robert Guay 
 

Associate Professor

PhD Philosophy, University of Chicago, 2000

Office: LT 1216
Phone: 607-777-3983
Email: rguay@binghamton.edu
Personal website: http://bingweb.binghamton.edu/~rguay/

Research

Continental Philosophy (especially Kant and the nineteenth century), Moral and Political Philosophy, History of Ethics, Philosophy of Art

Curriculum vitae

Download CV (.pdf, 131kb)


Nicole Hassoun

  Ncole Hassoun  
 

Associate Professor of Philosophy
Director of Graduate Studies

Email: nhassoun@binghamton.edu
Professional website: http://harvey.binghamton.edu/~nhassoun

Research

Social and Political Philosophy, Ethics

 


 

Mattias Iser

 Mattias Iser   
 

Assistant Professor of Philosophy

PhD, Freie Universitat Berlin, 2005

Office: LT-1213
Phone: 777-3492
Email: iser@binghamton.edu
Personal website: http://www.mattias-iser.de/

Curriculum vitae

Download CV (.pdf, 86.4kb)


Anja Karnein

 Anja Karnein
  

Assistant Professor of Philosophy

PhD Philosophy, Brandeis University, 2005

Office: LT-1204
Phone: 777-4003
Email: akarnein@binghamton.edu

Curriculum vitae

Download CV (.pdf, 50.8kb)


Christopher Morgan-Knapp

  Christopher Morgan-Knapp   

Associate Professor of Philosophy
Department Chair
Director, Program in Philosophy, Politics and Law

PhD Philosophy, Rutgers University, 2001

Office: LT 1208
Phone: 607-777-4163
Email: c.morgan-knapp@binghamton.edu
Personal website: http://bingweb.binghamton.edu/~cknapp/

Research

Ethics, Environmental Ethics

Curriculum vitae

Download CV (.pdf, 92.7kb)


Max Pensky

Max Pensky   

Professor of Philosophy

PhD Philosophy, Boston College, 1989

Office: LT 1217
Phone: 777-3660
Email: mpensky@binghamton.edu

Research

Modern and Contemporary Social and Political Philosophy, Critical Theory, Contemporary Continental Philosophy, Philosophy of Law and International Relations

Curriculum vitae

Download CV (.pdf, 207kb)


Anthony Preus

 Anthony Preus   

Distinguished Teaching Professor of Philosophy
Master of College-in-the-Woods

PhD Philosophy Johns Hopkins, 1968

Office: LT 1209
Phone: 607-777-2886
Email: apreus@binghamton.edu

Research

Ancient Greek Philosophy

Curriculum vitae

Download CV (.pdf, 276kb)


Anthony Reeves

 Anthony Reeves    

Assistant Professor of Philosophy

PhD Philosophy, Boston University, 2009

Office: LT 1211
Phone: 607-777-5188
Email: areeves@binghamton.edu
Personal website: http://bingweb.binghamton.edu/~areeves

Research

Philosophy of Law, Political Philosophy, Normative Ethics

Curriculum vitae

Download CV (.pdf, 147.3kb)


Lisa Tessman

 Lisa Tessman   

Professor of Philosophy

PhD  Philosophy University of Massachusetts, Amherst, 1996

Office: Library Tower 1215
Phone: 777-2269
Email: ltessman@binghamton.edu
Personal Website: http://bingweb.binghamton.edu/~ltessman/

Research

Ethics: especially virtue ethics, moral dilemmas, moral psychology, feminist ethics and social theory

Curriculum vitae

Download CV (.pdf, 227.6kb)


Melissa Zinkin

Melissa Zinkin    

Associate Professor of Philosophy
Undergraduate Director, Philosophy Department

PhD Philosophy, Northwestern University, 1999

Office: LT 1212
Phone: 607-777-2297
Email: mzinkin@binghamton.edu

Research

AOS: Kant, Early Modern Philosophy. Philosophy of Art
AOC: Ethics, Social and Political Philosophy, Feminist theory

Curriculum vitae

Download CV (.pdf, 261.9kb)

Last Updated: 9/3/15