Fountain infront of Glenn G Bartle Library 

BU- Physics Department Graduate Students


Nick Quackenbush wins prestigious NRC post- doctoral research fellowship.

Nick QuackenbushNicholas Quackenbush won a post doctoral research fellowship through the National Research Council (NRC), USA. He will be working for the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) beginning in December, 2016 and he will be stationed at the new National Synchrotron Light Source-II (NSLS-II) facility at Brookhaven National Laboratory, Upton NY, working under Dr. Joseph C. Woicik. Nick's proposal is to use hard x-ray photoelectron spectroscopy (HAXPES) to investigate novel electronic materials. Specifically, he will be studying rare earth perovskite heterostructures that are promising for application in oxide electronics. He will also have the opportunity to participate in the commissioning of the brand new beamline at NSLS-II that he will use for his research.
Prof. Louis Piper, Nick's supervisor, adds that Nick will be defending his thesis entitled "The physics of ultra-thin vanadium dioxide: at the surface, interface and in-between" in June 2016.

Graduate Students- fall 2012- 2013

Physics Grad students- new and previous ones


Front Row Left to Right: Junping Shao, Derek Stampone, Dan Clark, Francis Mutuku, Darshana Weerawarne, Joshua Hewlett, Jeremiah Dederick, Patrick OBrien
Next Row standing Left to Right: Linda Wangoh, Imran Khan, Matt Wahila, Jonathan Li, Connor Harrison, Nick Quackenbush, Matt Gochan, Gavin Osterhoudt, Felix Sauoma, Ning Kang
Last Row Standing, Left to Right: Calford Otieno, Greg Parks, Austin Faucett, Steve Button, Justin Leshen, Shawn Sallis, Faramarz Hadian, William Thompson.


Graduate Students 2011-2012

Physics Graduate Students 2011-2012


Names of graduates in the photograph above:

  • Back Row: Left to Right: Austin Faucett, Shawn Sallis, Greg Parks and David Stern
  • Second Row from Back: Left to Right: Todd Rutkowski, Nicholas Quackenbush, Connor Harrison, Steve Button, Joshua Hewlett, and William Thompson
  • Next Row: Left to Right: Imran Khan, Daniel Clark, Lennard Blum, Francis Mutuku, Felix Saouma and Calford Otieno
  • Front Row: Left to right: Patrick O Brien, Andrew Snyder, Jeremiah Dederick and Erik Weiler
  • Not in the photograph: Fangfang Song, Lingling Wu, and Rajesh Vaddi

Graduate Students 2010-2011

Physics Graduate Students


Who is Who in the Photograph:

  • Back Row: Left to Right: Steve Button, Joshua Hewlett, Connor Harrison, Austin Faucett, Greg Parks and Murray Parvez.
  • Middle Row: Left to Right: Robert Kuntz, Michael Paceli, Francis Mutuku, William Thompson and Jeremiah Dederick
  • Front Row: Left to Right: Erik Weiler, Andrew Snyder, Fangfang Song, Lingling Wu and Patrick Obrien
  • Not in the photograph: Rajesh Vaddi


Last Updated: 4/27/16