Active Alert: Classes canceled rest of today and tomorrow

B-ALERT:Due to forecast, all classes effective 4:30pm today Nov 25 are canceled. There will be no classes Wednesday Nov 26. Adjust travel plans accordingly.

Alert updated: Tuesday, November 25, 2014 3:50 PM

Watson School History

The Watson School was founded in 1983 and named for IBM Corporation founder Thomas J. Watson. While the school's official presence may seem relatively young, its legacy encompasses a long-standing history of learning and research based on its foundations that can be traced to the graduate programs of the School of Advanced Technology and the undergraduate computer science and engineering technology offerings of the School of General Studies and Professional Education.

In establishing the Watson School, Binghamton University created an organization that could offer comprehensive undergraduate and graduate engineering programs. The Watson School programs respond and lead -- not only in the Southern Tier and New York state -- but across the nation and around the globe.

Watson School Leaders — A Historical Review

  • Hari Srihari, Dean, 2009–present
  • Seshu Desu, Dean, 2007–2009
  • Charles Roger Westgate, Dean, 2001–2007
  • Lyle D. Feisel, Founding Dean, 1983–2001

Pre-Watson Leaders

  • Walter Lowen, Founding Dean, School of Advanced Technology
  • John Granito, Dean, School of General Studies and Professional Education when engineering technology programs transferred
  • James C. Votruba, Dean, School of General Studies and Professional Education/Graduate School of Education and Human Development when computer science programs transferred

Watson School Milestones


  • Founding of Watson School of Engineering and Applied Science
  • Appointment of Watson School Founding Dean Lyle D. Feisel
  • First graduate engineering students admitted


  • First undergraduate Electrical Engineering junior level students admitted


  • First undergraduate Mechanical Engineering junior level students admitted


  • First class of Electrical Engineering students graduate
  • First graduate Industrial Engineering students admitted
  • Watson School Advisory Committee established


  • First class of Mechanical Engineering students graduate
  • Electrical Engineering program accredited retroactive to first graduation
  • Computer Science undergraduate program transferred to Watson
  • Master of Science in Computer Science degree authorized


  • Mechanical Engineering program accredited retroactive to first graduation
  • Institute for Research in Electronics Packaging formed


  • Computer Science accredited


  • Integrated Electronics Engineering Consortium formed
  • Center for Computing Technologies established


  • National Science Foundation approves State/Industry University
  • Cooperative Research Center to establish Integrated Electronics Engineering Center (IEEC)
  • Tau Beta Pi engineering honors society founded on campus


  • National Society of Black Engineers student chapter formed


  • System Science merged with Industrial Engineering
  • Strategic Partnership for Industrial Resurgence (SPIR) established
  • EngiNet distance education graduate engineering program established


  • First freshmen engineering class admitted
  • Division of Engineering Design common lower division program launched
  • International Studies Certificate program introduced


  • Center for Intelligent Systems established


  • Master of Engineering degree offered
  • National Science Foundation Alliance for Minority Participation grant establishes Binghamton Success Program


  • Original Watson School Founders honored
  • Patrick A. Toole Lectures on Engineering Leadership launched
  • J. Donald Ahearn provides first "named gift" to establish electrical engineering instructional laboratories


  • First undergraduate Computer Engineering students admitted
  • First undergraduate Industrial & Systems Engineering students admitted
  • Watson School Founders Awards launched


  • Gary and Natasha Kunis donate University's first $1 million alumni gift for students, facilities and infrastructure
  • BAE's William Berical named chair of Watson School Advisory Committee


  • First class of undergraduate Computer Engineering students graduate
  • First class of undergraduate Industrial & Systems Engineering students graduate
  • Founding Dean Lyle D. Feisel retires
  • Charles R. Westgate joins the Watson School as Dean
  • Computer Engineering program accredited
  • Industrial & Systems Engineering program accredited
  • Materials Engineering program launched


  • Department of Electrical Engineering renamed Electrical and Computing Engineering
  • Division of Engineering Design renamed Engineering Discovery and Design
  • Department of Bioengineering launched


  • The Watson School celebrates 20 years


  • Distinguished professor Dr. Krishnaswami "Hari" Srihari  named dean of the Watson School.


  • Gary Kunis '73 names Seymour Kunis Media Core in upcoming Engineering and Science Building with gift to Watson School equipment endowment in memory of his father.


  • Dr. Hugo J. Uyttenhove, MS '75, PhD '78 and wife Kristin Conrad name Hugo Uyttenhove, PhD '78 Conference Room in upcoming Engineering and Science Building with gift to Watson School equipment endowment.
  • New Computer-Aided Engineering Instructional Laboratory opens in Engineering Building at center of campus.
  • Joseph H. "Harry" Boyer names Boyer Innovation Executive Boardroom in upcoming Engineering and Science Building with gift to Watson School equipment endowment.New Engineering and Science Building opens at Innovative Technologies Complex.
  • Departments of Electrical and Computer Engineering, and Mechanical Engineering relocated to ITC with office of the Dean.

Last Updated: 11/26/13