Search Target

Student Awards & Scholarships

2016 Outstanding Volunteer Award

Nick Doran received an Outstanding Volunteer Award from the Broome County United Way for his volunteer efforts in the community surrounding getting students engaged in the political process.

2016 Greatest Impact on the Community Award

Melina Martin won this award from the Binghamton University Scholars Program for her commitment to community service.

2016 Andrew Goodman Foundation Hidden Heroes Award

Nick Doran, a Vote Everywhere Ambassador working with the CCE, received the Hidden Heroes Award for his work to reduce voting barriers for students by improving efficiency at the on-campus polling site.

Nick Doran receives Hidden Heroes Award from Andrew Goodman Foundation


Leah Ferentinos accepts the 2015 Newman Civic Fellow award with CCE Director Allison Alden and President Harvey Stenger2015 Newman Civic Fellow

Leah Ferentinos, a senior at Binghamton University was nominated by President Harvey G. Stenger to represent Binghamton University as the 2015 Newman Civic Fellow for her activism and research surrounding the effects of activism on mobilizing small communities during the AIDS epidemic in the United States.

Nicholas Doran receives ACT for Excellence and Student Initiative Scholarship Award2014-15 ACT for Excellence and Student Initiative Scholarship Award

This award recognizes a student with an outstanding academic record who identified and developed a program to address a need in their community. Nick Doran was selected from a pool of applicants that includes all the SUNY schools for his involvement in political engagement and student voter registration initiatives.

President’s Award for Undergraduate Student Excellence

Recipients have enriched the Binghamton University community through a record of accomplishment and leadership in such areas as scholarship, student life, and community life, all of which reflect the University’s purposes and priorities. A record of accomplishment across a range of activities/areas is expected, including academic excellence, campus service/involvement in extracurricular activities, community service, international engagement, experiential learning, and evidence of leadership.

  • 2015-16 Senior Recipients - Alyssa Berkowitz, Alexandra Cain, Leigha Jarett
  • 2015-16 Junior Recipients - Kaitlin Biagiotti, Joseph Dibenedetto, Sarah Safeer
  • Previous Years’ Recipients

The Chancellor’s Award for Student Excellence

Recognizes students for the integration of academic excellence with other aspects of their lives which may include leadership, community service, arts, athletics and career achievement.

  • 2015-16 Recipients - Alyssa Berkowitz, Alexandra Cain, Fannie Chen, Leigha Jarett, Lily Kuong, Jenny Li, Kristen Mulvena, Mallory Schmackpfeffer, Shirley Shum, Emily Tier
  • Previous Years’ Recipients

Graduate Excellence Award in Service and Outreach

Rishel-Searles Memorial Award

This $600 award is given to a graduating senior who has demonstrated academic excellence by obtaining a 3.5+ GPA and service to the University and/or community.

  • 2016 - Amandeep Singh and Amanda Niedfeld
  • 2015 - Alice Cheung

Nell Jackson Award

This $300 award is presented to a graduating senior with a strong academic record and a strong commitment to campus or community service.

  • 2016 - Nayemai-Isis McIntosh Green
  • 2015 - Sabrena Myers

Kent & Barbara Turner Award for Volunteer Services

This $550 award is presented to a graduating senior involved in volunteer service of high quality in the Broome County area.

  • 2016 - Melina Martin
  • 2015 - Dali Lu-Grobe

David L. Anderson Award for Student Excellence

This $100 award is presented to a graduating senior who has demonstrated excellence in character by improving the quality of life for Binghamton students through student development activities, being active in community service, and participating in and contributing to campus organizations.

  • 2016 - Zachary Vigliani
  • 2015 - Kieran Bretz

Hinman College ALIVE (Achieving Leadership in Volunteer Experience) Service Certificate

  • 2015-16: Ariel N Tzamarot, Annie Zheng, Elizabeth Sang, Ivan Gubarev, Jason Flatt, Kristen Deacon, Katrina Hua, Lauryn Maleski, Margaret Leisenheimer, Marlena Santos, Patty Chen, Ron Gunczler, Sebastian Geraci, Sara Herlands, Shelby Rakusin, Sonia Reyes, Tori Peña
  • 2014-15: Shanna Thomas, Amber Decker, Patty Chen, Emily Wright, Emily Christian, Cassandra Lee, Jessie Kwan, Henry Aery

President's Volunteer Service Award

The following students in Hinman College's ALIVE program completed 100 or more hours of community service, receiving the President's Volunteer Service Award, through the auspices of the Corporation for National and Community Service.

  • 2015-16: Abby Arnold, Alex Lam, Brendan Burns, Chris Woloshyn, Emily Fenter, Hope Brennan, Jared Fiacco, Max Goldfarb, Morgan Wood, Shanna Thomas

James P. and Helen T. Ernstrom Scholarship Recipient

Established by former president of the Binghamton University Foundation, Carl T. Ernstrom ('61) and Rita Ernstrom in honor of their parents, this scholarship is awarded to a full-time sophomore, junior, or senior in the School of Management with proven academic merit, financial need, and commitment to community service.

  • 2014 - Dali Lu-Grobe

Vote Everywhere Ambassador

Vote Everywhere is the Andrew Goodman Foundation’s experiential, nonpartisan program that leverages the history of the U.S. Civil Rights Movement to inspire students nationally to effect positive social change. Through the program, The AGF trains and supports students to be Vote Everywhere Ambassadors at colleges and universities, and acts as a strategic partner to participating schools, advancing and deepening their civic engagement work.

  • 2016-17 - Nick Doran, Sarah Knoell, Nicole Bruno
  • 2015-16 - Nick Doran, Joulyana Ibrahim
  • Spring 2015 - Nick Doran, Woodson Agte
  • Fall 2014 - Nick Doran

2015 David Bar-Illan Award for Outstanding Campus Activism

Awarded to Justin Hayet based on student leadership and activism on behalf of Israel on a college campus.

2015 Changemaker Student Honor

Recognizes student projects that have helped create lasting and meaningful community change locally or abroad, including applied learning, service-learning, action research, participatory research, internships, etc. Awarded by President Harvey Stenger at the Institute on Community Engaged Teaching, Research & Scholarship.

  • Nicholas Doran – Political Engagement
  • Mehjabeen Hassan, Calli Rothberg, Marcol Rodriguez, Natasha Afranie – Immigrant Informational Guide

2013-14 KPMG/Amy M. (Weiner) Krisburg '90 Memorial Scholarship

Established by KPMG LLP, family, friends, and colleagues in honor of Amy M. (Weiner) Krisburg '90. This scholarship is awarded to a School of Management accounting major in their junior year based on academic merit, leadership abilities, and service to the community.

  • Tiffany Choi

2013-14 ACT for Excellence and Student Initiative Scholarship Award

This award recognizes a student with an outstanding academic record who identified and developed a program to address a need in their community. Melina Martin was selected from a pool of applicants that includes all the SUNY schools for her involvement in managing the end of the year room clean out resource drive, which collected over 15,000 pounds of usable clothing, toiletries, bedding, other household items, and electric and electronic equipment to be donated to the local Rescue Mission and Salvation Army.

2012 Ernst & Young "Your World, Your Vision" competition

The CCE supported and mentored a student group from the School of Management that won first place in the national Ernst & Young "Your World, Your Vision" competition. $10,000 award put toward Bridging the Digital Divide Project.

Last Updated: 9/1/16