Nationally-Accredited Programs

Nationally-accredited programs

  • The Public Administration Program (MPA) is accredited by the Network of Schools of Public Policy, Affairs, and Administration (NASPAA), ensuring excellence in education and training for public services. NASPAA is a membership association of graduate programs in public administration, public policy and public affairs. Its Commission on Peer Review and Accreditation is the specialized accreditor of these master's degree programs.
  • The Social Work Program (MSW) is accredited by the Council on Social Work Education (CSWE), responsible for developing accreditation standards that define competent preparation and ensuring that social work programs meet them. The CSWE Office of Social Work Accreditation and Educational Excellence (OSWAEE) administers a multi-step accreditation process that involves program self-studies, site visits and Commission on Accreditation reviews.
  • Teaching, Learning and Educational Leadership Programs:

Binghamton University is accredited by the Middle States Commission on Higher Education. For programs leading to certification in New York state, the Department of Teaching, Learning and Educational Leadership also participates in accreditation from the Teacher Education Accreditation Council (TEAC), whose goal is to "offer public assurance that educators are competent, caring and qualified".

Teacher Education
In September 2010, TEAC granted Continuing Accreditation to Binghamton University's Teacher Education programs for a period of 10 years (until September 2020). This accreditation certifies that we provided evidence that our programs are designed to prepare competent, caring and qualified educators dedicated to their profession and to diverse learning communities, consistent with TEAC's Standards and Quality Principles for Teacher Education Programs.

Educational Leadership
In October 2013, TEAC and the Council for the Accreditation of Educator Preparation (CAEP) awarded full national accreditation to our Educational Leadership program for a period of seven years (through October 2020). This recognition means that our Educational Leadership advanced certificate program meets all quality standards and expectations of both New York state and TEAC/CAEP.