News in the Engineering Design Division

Fall 2018 EDD First-Year Engineering Arduino Expo

The EDD first-year engineering class of Watson College of Engineering and Applied Science presented this fall's Arduino projects during an exposition on October 24, 2018. Projects were judged by EDD teaching assistants and undergraduate assistants. Here are the list of winners:

Fortune Teller
First Place -- Section 63 (Claudia Martin)
Second Place -- Section 58 (Diana Murtaugh)

Laser Tag
First Place -- Section 52 (Sharon Fellows)
Second Place -- Section 50 (Erika Olenik)

First Place -- Section 58 (Diana Murtaugh)
Second Place -- Section 61 (Diana Murtaugh)

Reaction Time Tester
First Place -- Section 51 (Sharon Fellows)
Second Place -- Section 59 (Diana Murtaugh)

Rock, Paper, Scissors
First Place -- Section 50 (Erika Olenik)
Second Place -- Section 62 (Erika Olenik)

Simon Says
First Place -- Section 55 (Claudia Martin)
Second Place -- Section 50 (Erika Olenik)

First Place -- Section 54 (Sharon Fellows)
Second Place -- Section 55 (Claudia Martin)

Spring 2020 EDD First-Year Engineering Conceptual Design Project

The EDD first-year engineering class of Watson College of Engineering and Applied Science completed this spring's Conceptual Design Projects. Student teams presented projects that were judged by EDD faculty and teaching assistants who served as "CEOs" of the projects.  Here are the list of winners:

Toaster for a Blind Person -- Cooking in the Dark
Section 57
Justin Cha, Sung Choi, Jeremy Lai, Keith Ogden, David Peretz, Victor Rosa

Coffee Maker for Persons with Hand Tremors
Section 62
Hunter Colomaio, Riley Corbett, Samantha Cotes, Cara Dennehy, Jocelyn Ortega, Bryana Thompson

Blood Pressure Monitor for Persons with the Use of One Arm or Hand
Section 52
Adi Ari, Bryan Flynn, Katie Foto, John Holmberg, Jessica Jurcsak, Hannah Neusner, Colin Schepis

Energy Efficient Bread Toaster
Section 50
Nicholas Arfanis, Christina Coulton, Nathan Gaviola, Nourin Haque, Ryan Serafin, Leslie Torres

Energy Efficient Refrigerator
Section 60
Bohden Landis, Harold Karpen, Liam DeMaria, Justin Groux, Michael DeVogel, Jack McCormack

Harvesting Kitchen Waste Energy
Section 50
Thomas Barjak, Luke Burke, Myles Clark, Brody Conroy, Cristopher Montesdeoca, Anthony Giunta

Flexible Dosimeter
Section 59
Lucas Grabowski, Peter Grega, Vincent Hodgins, Seth Markley, Grace Moon

Congratulations to all winners!