Search Target

Please note: The EvoS seminar schedule is in progress; final dates and topics will be announced as they become available.

 

EvoS Seminars - Spring 2018
5:15 PM, S1-149
Binghamton University

 

Monday, January 22 - Terry Hunt, University of Arizona, on Rapa Nui (Easter Island)

Monday, January 29 - David Sloan Wilson, Binghamton U., on Tinbergen's Four Questions

*Monday, February 5 - Rolf Quam, Binghamton University Dept. of Anthropology: New perspectives on the origin and evolution of Homo sapiens

Monday, February 12 - Andrew Gallup, Assistant Professor of Psychology and Neuroscience, Department of Social and Behavioral Sciences, SUNY Polytechnic Institute (REMOTE): Uncovering the adaptive function(s) of yawning

Monday, February 19 - Omar Eldakar, Biological Sciences, Nova Southeastern University (REMOTE): Sex and Tragedy

*Monday, February 26 - Lori Wiser, Lori Wiser, Co-founder & COO, Uscore™: You can judge a book by its cover

Monday, March 5, 2018 - NO CLASSES March 3-7

*Monday, March 12 - Russell K. Schutt, PhD, Professor of Sociology, UMass, Boston: 

Sociology and Evolutionary Biology: From Competing to Complementary Explanations of Human Sociality

*Monday, March 19 - Justin R. Garcia, Associate Professor of Gender Studies, Associate Director for Research and Education, The Kinsey Institute, Indiana University:

Modern Mating: Are U.S. Singles Redefining Courtship and Intimacy?

*Monday, March 26 - Nina Wale, PhD, postdoctoral research fellow, University of Michigan: Fighting on all fronts: how antagonistic interactions shape parasites' lives and why it matters to us

Monday, April 2, 2018 - NO CLASSES March 31 - April 8

*Monday, April 9 - Andrew Norman, PhD, Humanism Initiative Director, Carnegie Mellon University: AIDS of the Mind: How Liberal Orthodoxy Managed to Compromise Our Mental Immune Systems

Monday, April 16 - Joseph Graves (Livestream from SUNY New Paltz)

*Monday, April 23 - Dennis Embrey - TBD

*Monday, April 30 - Adrian Bejan, J.A. Jones Distinguished Professor, Duke University

Life and Evolution, as Physics

Monday, May 7 - Grad student mini-presentations

 

*Guest lectures to be livestreamed from Binghamton University

 

FMI, contact:

David Sloan Wilson, EvoS Director

Susan Ryan or Sudhindra Rao, Adjunct Faculty 

Last Updated: 3/26/18