Motion presented to Faculty Senate 5/07/13

The following motion for change to the Faculty ByLaws comes approved and recommended by the Faculty Senate Executive Committee:

Rationale:

- a) Athletics no longer has faculty members and
- b) the title of director is now given to faculty in the libraries (in lieu of the former "head of department") who should not be eliminated from eligibility for the FSEC.

It is therefore recommended to change the Faculty ByLaws as shown below (deletions indicated with a single strike through the text).

Article III, B. 5b Composition:

Composition. The Executive Committee shall consist of sixteen (Approved by faculty March 2012) members of the State University of New York at Binghamton voting faculty. Administrative officers with concurrent academic rank are not eligible for election to the Executive Committee nor may they serve as an observer on the Executive Committee. These include but are not limited to: the president, the provost, vice presidents, vice provosts, the deputy to the president, and associate directors (Approved by faculty in mail ballot in September 2009) of the library and athletics. (Approved by faculty in mail ballot in November 2007).