Joint Micro-credential Committee Charge and Composition: Presented to Faculty Senate September 29, 2020

The Binghamton University Micro-credential policy was approved by the Faculty Senate on May 12, 2020. The Office of Micro-credentials was established with Andrea MacArgel as Director. In the interim before the joint committee is established and staffed, the Joint Micro-credential Task Force is providing review for microcredential approval. The procedure, which is expected to be followed in the future as well, is that each proposal is reviewed by a group of at least three people in accordance with the review rubric and proposal form approved by the Task Force. At least two faculty are involved with each review. An approval work flow system has been established. For non-credit microcredentials, the goal is to process approval within two weeks of the proposal completion – during the summer as well as the academic year. With only several members of the committee called upon for each review, this is seen as a feasible goal. This process has worked well this summer and several microcredentials have been approved and are being offered. Units that previously offered microcredentials have begun the process of getting their already existing offerings approved.

## MICRO-CREDENTIAL COMMITTEE (Joint)

## Charge:

- 1. To oversee the university-wide micro-credential policy.
- 2. To approve university-approved micro-credentials submitted by units.
  - a. For credit-bearing micro-credentials, the committee will provide intermediate approval in between unit approval and Faculty Senate (undergraduate) or Graduate School (graduate) approval.
  - b. For non-credit micro-credentials, the committee will provide final approval for microcredentials already approved at the unit level through regular curriculum processes; and complete approval for micro-credentials coming from entities without deans.

## **Composition:**

The Micro-credential Committee consists of eight members total. The director of the Office of Microcredentials is the chair, the Faculty Senate will appoint a faculty vice-chair and four faculty drawn from various schools and the Library, two additional members chosen by the Provost. Thus, Faculty Senate representatives comprise five of the eight voting members of the Microcredential Committee.

Faculty will be appointed based on their expertise in one or more of the National Association of Colleges and Employers career-readiness competencies: Critical Thinking/Problem Solving, Oral/Written Communications, Teamwork/Collaboration, Digital Technology, Leadership, Professionalism/Work Ethic, Career Management, and Global/Intercultural Fluency.

These faculty members will serve two-year terms, with a limit of two consecutive terms. The representation shall rotate after terms expire. No two faculty members appointed by the Faculty Senate from the same department or Professional School shall serve concurrently.

Additional non-voting members whose expertise would contribute to the committee's function may be added at the discretion of the committee chair subject to the approval of the Faculty Senate Executive Committee.