Motion presented to Faculty Senate 5/10/11 Evaluation Coordinating Committee committee charge

Add the following charge to the Appendix to the By-Laws:

APPENDIX TO FACULTY BYLAWS Title A. Faculty Senate Committees

In accordance with Article IV. Title B. of the Faculty Bylaws, following are the charges of all currently authorized Faculty Senate committees:

Evaluation Coordinating Committee

Charge:

- To coordinate or conduct regular evaluations of those senior administrators who have significant responsibilities involving them in the academic program. These positions currently include, but are not limited to: the President, the Provost, the Vice President for Research, all Deans, the Vice Provost and Dean of the Graduate School, the Vice Provost for Undergraduate Education, the Vice Provost for International Education, the Associate Vice President for Information Technology Services, and the Director of Continuing Education and Summer Programs.
- 2. To prepare confidential reports for distribution only to the administrator being evaluated; that administrator's immediate supervisor; and the Faculty Senate Executive Committee.

Composition:

The Evaluation Coordinating Committee (ECC) will consist of nine full-time Faculty Senate members chosen by the Committee on Committees and confirmed by the Faculty Senate Executive Committee, including one representative from each of the following units: the Decker School of Nursing, the School of Management, the School of Education, the College of Community and Public Affairs, the Watson School of Engineering and Applied Science, the Library, and three representatives from Harpur College of Arts and Sciences, including one member from each of the following Divisions: Humanities, Science and Mathematics, and Social Sciences. ECC members will serve one year terms renewable for the duration of their Faculty Senate terms.

Explanation:

Although the Evaluation Coordinating Committee was formed by the Faculty Senate in 1996-97, it has never been included in the list of Faculty Senate committees in the Appendix to the By-Laws. As part of a project undertaken this year to update and streamline the 2004 Guidelines and Suggested Procedures for the ECC, the 2010/2011 Evaluation Coordinating Committee recommended the formal inclusion of the ECC among the faculty committees. There are two substantive changes in this proposed charge from the provisions of the 1996 document. The ECC was to consist of "full-time Faculty Senate members chosen by secret ballot from the entire Senate" according to a prescribed composition, which is retained in this charge. The current ECC recommends that members be chosen from among the elected Senators by the Committee on Committees and confirmed by the Faculty Senate Executive Committee instead of conducting a special election for this purpose. The senators are already elected representatives so the complicated double election procedure seems unnecessary. Second, the original document specifies that "members will serve for two years coincident with their tenure as members of the Faculty Senate." But members could be appointed to this committee in the second year of their Senate term, so the committee recommends a change to specifying one year terms renewable for the duration of service on the Faculty Senate.