FACULTY BYLAWS

<u>Proposed changes relative to Department of Health, Physical Education and Athletics</u> submitted to Faculty Senate 032012

Explanation

Changes address the recent absorption of the Department of Health and Wellness (referred to in Bylaws as "Department of Health, Physical Education, and Athletics" into the Decker School of Nursing.

ARTICLE I

- h. **Academic Subdivisions**. Organizational entities below the level of the State University of New York at Binghamton based on academic considerations. Academic subdivisions include:
- 1) **Academic Units**. The constituent schools of the State University of New York at Binghamton;— and the Library; and the Department of Health, Physical Education and Athletics.*

ARTICLE III

ORGANIZATION AND PROCEDURES

Title B. Faculty Senate

- 5. **Executive Committee**. There shall be an Executive Committee of the Faculty Senate.
- b. Composition. The Executive Committee shall consist of seventeen sixteen (Approved by faculty in mail ballot in March 2006, May 2007) members of the State University of New York at Binghamton voting faculty. Administrative officers with concurrent academic rank are not eligible for election to the Executive Committee nor may they serve as an observer on the Executive Committee. These include but are not limited to: the president, the provost, vice presidents, vice provosts, the deputy to the president, the deans and associate deans, and the directors and associate directors (Approved by faculty in mail ballot in September 2009) of the library and athletics. (Approved by faculty in mail ballot in November 2007). Voting faculty will be distributed as follows:
- iii. Six-Five (Approved by faculty in May 2007), distributed one each from the Library; Health, Physical Education and Athletics; Decker School of Nursing; Graduate School of Education; College of Community and Public Affairs; and School of Management.
- 6. Election.
- b. The annual election for the remaining members of the Faculty Senate shall be in April.
- i. From a list of those eligible to serve, each department in a school that is organized by departments; . Health, Physical Education and Athletics; schools that are not organized by departments, and the Library shall elect the appropriate number of representatives.

ARTICLE VII

Title B. Initiating Personnel Committees

- 3. Types and Composition of Initiating Personnel Committees.
- a. **Personnel Committees of Academic Subdivisions**. All departments, non- departmentalized Schools, Health, Physical Education and Athletics, and the Library shall have a Junior and Senior Personnel Committee.

APPENDIX TO FACULTY BYLAWS

Title A. Faculty Senate Committees

BUDGET REVIEW COMMITTEE

Composition:

Membership shall be representative of all schools,—<u>and</u> the Library, and Health, Physical Education and Athletics. There shall be ten-nine (Approved by faculty in May 2007) faculty (three from Harpur College of Arts and Sciences and one each from Thomas J. Watson School of Engineering and Applied Science; Graduate School of Education; College of Community and Public Affairs; School of Management; Decker School of Nursing; and the Library; and Health, Physical Education and Athletics) and two students (one undergraduate and one graduate). Additional non-voting members whose expertise would contribute to the committee's function may be added at the discretion of the committee chair, subject to the approval of the Executive Committee. The term of office of such appointees shall be the same as that of the committee's elected members.

BYLAWS REVIEW COMMITTEE

Composition:

Five faculty: three to be elected and two ex officio (the two immediate past Vice Chairpersons of the Faculty Senate.) Of the five members, three shall be from Harpur College of Arts and Sciences and two shall be from the professional schools, and/or Library and/or Health, Physical Education and Athletics. Additional non-voting members whose expertise would contribute to the committee's function may be added at the discretion of the committee chair, subject to the approval of the Executive Committee. The term of office of such appointees shall be the same as that of the committee's elected members.

EDUCATIONAL POLICY AND PRIORITIES COMMITTEE

Composition:

Seven faculty, all tenured, distributed as follows:

- 1. four from Harpur College of Arts and Sciences, with a minimum of one from Humanities and Fine Arts, one from Social Sciences, and one from Science and Mathematics
- 2. three from the Professional Schools (Thomas J. Watson School of Engineering and Applied Science; Graduate School of Education; College of Community and Public Affairs; School of Management; Decker School of Nursing; the Library; Health, Physical Education and Athletics)

EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE

Composition:

The Executive Committee shall consist of seventeen sixteen (Approved by faculty in May 2007) members of the State University of New York at Binghamton voting faculty distributed as follows:

- 1. Nine from Harpur College of Arts and Sciences, distributed as equally as possible among the divisions of the School; such distribution to be determined by the Committee on Committees. Each division shall be considered a separate constituency for the purpose of this Article;
- 2. Two from the Thomas J. Watson School of Engineering and Applied Science; (Approved by faculty in mail ballot in March 2006)
- 3. Six-Five (Approved by faculty in May 2007), distributed one each from the Library; Health, Physical Education and Athletics; Decker School of Nursing; Graduate School of Education; College of Community and Public Affairs; and School of Management;

INTERCOLLEGIATE ATHLETICS COMMITTEE (Approved by Faculty Senate on October 12, 1999)

Composition:

Four faculty drawn from various schools. The Faculty Representative to the NCAA shall be a non-voting member of the committee. Two undergraduate students (one male and one female) with vote designated by the Student Association. One graduate student teaching assistant with vote designated by the Graduate Student Organization. The Director of Health, Physical Education and Athletics shall be a non-voting ex officio member of the committee. One individual designated by the Vice President for Student Affairs without vote.

UNIVERSITY UNDERGRADUATE CURRICULUM COMMITTEE

Composition:

Ten-Nine (Approved by faculty in May 2007, October 2009) faculty (four from Harpur College of Arts and Sciences, with one each from Fine Arts, Humanities, Science and Mathematics, and Social Sciences; and one each from School of Management; College of Community and Public Affairs; Thomas J. Watson School of Engineering and Applied Science; Decker School of Nursing; and the Library; and Health, Physical Education and Athletics), one undergraduate student, one graduate student (who must carry a Teaching Assistantship). Additional non-voting members whose expertise would contribute to the committee's function may be added at the discretion of the committee chair, subject to the approval of the Executive Committee. The term of office of such appointees shall be the same as that of the committee's elected members.