Policy for Terminating Employee Userids

Termination Policy

Userids will be terminated based on the employee's reason for termination. Employees are terminated from Oracle HR because they resign, retire or are terminated.

The policy is described for each type of termination.

Resignation

Email Userid

  • Terminate at the close of business on the employees last day worked.
  • Employee may request an extension by sending an email to helpdesk@binghamton.edu requesting an extension of up to four weeks after the employee's last day worked.


Application/Server/Database Userids
Userid is either locked, suspended or the password is changed at the close of business on the employee's last day worked.
Notification is sent to all system administrators
Notification is sent to the employee's supervisor indicating that the employee's userids have been locked and will be deleted in four weeks. The supervisor will have an opportunity to reactivate the account if needed.

Retirement and Less than Ten Years of Service Email


Userid Terminate

  • at the close of business on the employees last day worked.
  • Employee may request an extension by sending an email to helpdesk@binghamton.edu requesting an extension of up to four weeks after the employee's last day worked.

Application/Server/Database Userids

  • Userid is either locked, suspended or the password is changed at the close of business on the employee's last day worked.
  • Notification is sent to all system administrators
  • Notification is sent to the employee's supervisor indicating that the employee's userids have been locked and will be deleted in four weeks. The supervisor will have an opportunity to reactivate the account if needed.

Retirement and More than Ten Years of Service

Email Userid

  • Employee may retain his/her email address indefinitely by sending a request to helpdesk@binghamton.edu.
  • Employee may request that the email address be deleted at any time by contacting the Help Desk.

Application/Server/Database Userids

  • Userid is either locked, suspended or the password is changed at the close of business on the employee's last day worked.
  • Notification is sent to all system administrators
  • Notification is sent to the employee's supervisor indicating that the employee's userids have been locked and will be deleted in four weeks. The supervisor will have an opportunity to reactivate the account if needed.

Termination

Email Userid

  • Terminate the email userid immediately unless we receive a request from the supervisor or other administrator to keep it active but locked.

Application/Server/Database Userids

  • Userid is either locked, suspended or the password is changed immediately.
  • Notification is immediately sent to all system administrators
  • Notification is sent to the employee's supervisor indicating that the employee's userids have been locked and will be deleted in four weeks. The supervisor will have an opportunity to reactivate the account if needed.