Search Target

Binghamton University to hold Commencement ceremonies May 15-18


More than 3,000 to receive bachelor’s, master’s and doctoral degrees

BINGHAMTON, NY – Binghamton University will confer more than 3,000 degrees for bachelor’s, master’s and doctoral candidates during Commencement ceremonies to be held May 15-18.

Each school and college, as well as the three divisions of Harpur College of Arts and Sciences, will hold its own ceremony. The Graduate School of Education will hold its ceremony at 5 p.m. Thursday, May 15, in the Chamber Hall of the Anderson Center for the Performing Arts. All other ceremonies will be held in the Events Center, beginning with the Doctoral Hooding Ceremony. Three honorary doctorates and doctoral degrees will be awarded during the Doctoral Hooding Ceremony, at 4 p.m. Friday, May 16.

Honorary doctorates will be awarded to three Binghamton University alumni: academic administrator and English language educator Carol Clancey Harter ’64, MA ’67, PhD ’70; public policy scholar, public servant and international humanitarian and human rights expert Eric P. Schwartz ’79; and Americanist historian Deborah Gray White ’71.

The 2014 Commencement ceremonies schedule:

Thursday, May 15
5 p.m. Graduate School of Education, Chamber Hall, Anderson Center
Student speaker: Jacob Hammond

All of the following ceremonies will be held in the Binghamton University Events Center:

Friday, May 16
4 p.m. Doctoral Hooding Ceremony

Saturday, May 17
8:30 a.m. Thomas J. Watson School of Engineering and Applied Science
Student speakers: Daniel Wong, undergraduate student, and Alper Alimoglu, graduate student 

12 p.m. College of Community and Public Affairs
Student speaker: Tanairy Carbo
Honorary degree recipient remarks: Eric P. Schwartz ’79

3 p.m. Decker School of Nursing
Student speaker: Jon-Paul DiMarco

6 p.m. School of Management
Student speakers: Marisa Sweeney, undergraduate student, and Kimberly Brower, graduate student

Alumni award recipient remarks: Dave Penski ’97

Sunday, May 18
8:30 a.m. Harpur College of Arts and Sciences, Social Sciences Division
Student speaker: Belle Yoeli 

Alumni award recipient remarks: Keith Gorham ’73, MA ’75

12 p.m. Harpur College of Arts and Sciences, Fine Arts and Humanities Division
Student speaker: Samson Widerman
Alumni award recipient remarks: Michael J. Garcia ’83

3:30 p.m. Harpur College of Arts and Sciences, Science and Math Division
Student speaker: Christina Pullano 
Alumni award recipient remarks: Shari Lawrence Pfleeger ’70, DHL ’00

The Educational Opportunity Program will recognize its graduates in Watters Theater in the Fine Arts Building at 3:30 p.m. Friday, May 16; and all residential communities will hold recognition ceremonies from 5-7 p.m. Friday, May 16, in their communities.

Last Updated: 9/17/13