Department of Pharmacy Practice

The Department of Pharmacy Practice in the School of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences provides the basic and advanced clinical practice coursework and practical skills training components of the doctor of pharmacy (PharmD) curriculum. The department also encourages and supports pharmacy practice-related research and scholarship.

With our inaugural pharmacy student class in place and a core group of talented and dedicated pharmacy practice faculty, our faculty and students are working side-by-side with local pharmacists, physicians, medical students, nurses and other healthcare providers to grow pharmacy medication therapy management services in hospitals, clinics and community pharmacies locally and regionally. The coursework and training provided by the department is closely aligned and coordinated with the pharmacy practice experiences structured within the doctor of pharmacy curriculum. Our students have many opportunities to expand their knowledge outside the classroom by performing meaningful clinical research with our faculty.

The profession of pharmacy is exciting, rewarding and ever-changing. There has never been a better time to consider pharmacy as a career. Upon graduation, our students will be practice-ready and team-ready to take the lead to manage drug therapy problems such as diabetes, high blood pressure, heart failure and pain management, helping to reduce hospital readmissions and the unfortunate outcomes of opioid addiction.

Chair Sarah Spinler

Sarah Spinler, PharmD Chair
Sarah Spinler
Department Chair

I am pleased to join the Department of Pharmacy Practice at the Binghamton University School of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Studies. I arrived in Binghamton with 30 years of academic and patient-care experience, ready to work with our students and faculty as they make an impact on patient care in the Southern Tier. I welcome you to join our team as we strive to make a difference in our patients' lives.

Sarah A. Spinler, PharmD, FCCP, FAHA, FASHP, AACC. BCPS AQ Cardiology
Professor and Chair
Department of Pharmacy Practice