Search Target

Resources for Students, Faculty and Staff - Department of Theatre

Here you will find many resources useful to our entire Department. Our department Calendar (stay up to date on production schedules, department and committee meetings, holidays etc.) Handbooks, Links to class bulletins, and information about scholarships and awards in theatre.

Theatre Department Calendar


Theatre Awards, Scholarships and Honors

Each spring, awards carrying modest financial stipends are awarded to students of high achievement in theatre studies and production. Selections are made by the faculty of the Department of Theatre with input from student advisory groups. One of the awards, the Jack Berman Award, is for a junior student, the remaining three for seniors. Though an effort is made to distribute the senior awards to students representing different sub-specializations, there is no mandate to guarantee area representation. The description of each award is listed below.

Annual Awards

The Jack Berman Award

A $100 cash award. Endowed by Jack Berman and given for the first time in 1978, it is awarded to an outstanding third-year (junior) undergraduate student whose record of service and achievement creates an expectation of significant contributions to the department and the University during the student's senior year; may be awarded in either the performance or production areas. The recipient is selected by the faculty of the Theatre Department.

Foundation Award for Creative Work in the Fine Arts - Theatre

A $100 cash award. Given to a senior student for outstanding creative or scholarly achievement; may be awarded for a single significant project or as recognition of continued excellence over several semesters of theatre participation; determined by the theatre faculty.

Theatre Department Award

A $100 cash award awarded by the faculty of the Theatre Department to a senior student in recognition of outstanding service and achievement in theatre production as a designer, manager or technician; normally awarded for cumulative achievement rather than a single project.

Don A. Watters Award

A $100 cash award funded by a committee which administers the Don A. Watters Scholarship Fund. Watters, professor of theatre and chairman of the Division of Humanities, died Oct. 13, 1968. Awarded by the faculty of the Department of Theatre to a senior student in recognition of outstanding service or achievement in theatre. Normally awarded for cumulative achievement rather than for a single project.

The Albert Nocciolino Excellence in Theatre Award

(Senior) In recognition of excellence in a practicing theatre artist during his/her residence with the Department of Theatre at Binghamton University. This award is presented with the overwhelming support of the theatre faculty.


John and Vi Bielenberg Scholarship

The John and Vi Bielenberg Theatre Scholarship was established by friends and colleagues in 1997 in honor of Professor John Bielenberg's retirement. The scholarship is awarded to a sophomore or junior theatre major who demonstrates exceptional promise in the field of scenic, costume or lighting design and may be awarded twice to the same individual. Selection is made by the faculty of the Department of Theatre upon recommendation by the Department's Design/Technical Committee.

The Solomon Israel Theatre Arts Scholarship

Awarded to a student majoring in theatre. The recipient will have proven financial need and will be from a metropolitan New York area with a preference for a student from New York City.

Alexander Rae Baldwin Jr. Memorial Scholarship

Established in 1993 by alumnus William E. Baldwin '85 in memory of his father. This scholarship is awarded to a student in performing arts (theatre). Recipient must have demonstrated financial need, have an academic record of merit with a GPA of 3.0 or higher and have demonstrated a commitment to community service or have been involved with activities for the betterment of society.

Gruber Family Scholarship

Awarded to a full-time Harpur College junior or senior (status for upcoming year), with proven academic merit. The scholarship is based on intellectual talents and artistic talents.

Pappy Parker Players Alumni Scholarship

Established to offset the cost of attendance to a summer program that will enrich the recipient's overall educational experience. Award given annually to a Binghamton University student who plans to attend a summer program for improvisation and/or comedy. Preference given to a member of the Pappy Parker Players.


Honors Program

Departmental honors are awarded to senior majors who have completed a substantive body of significant work, in one or more areas of specialization, which meets exceptionally high standards. These students must have demonstrated consistently noteworthy motivation and development over a period of at least four semesters of participation in departmental activities.

A logical progression would be to do outstanding work in both semesters of the junior year and first semester of the senior year. During the latter term, the student would be nominated as suggested below, thereby bringing his or her work to the attention of those voting members unaware of his or her accomplishments to date and alerting them to be aware of the student's endeavors during the upcoming term in which the deciding vote will be cast.

Students may be nominated for honors by individual faculty members or professional staff personnel (it is considered appropriate for students to have sought support and sponsorship from a member of the faculty or professional staff who would then nominate them). The final decision regarding the awarding of honors rests with the entire Theatre Department non-student membership.

To receive regular honors, students must have a cumulative GPA in the major of 3.25. High honors requires a cumulative GPA in the major of 3.5. Highest honors will be given only to those with a cumulative GPA in the major of 3.75 or above. 

Last Updated: 3/7/18