Judaic Studies Faculty and Staff

Staff

Office

Hours

Allan Arkush

LT 1306

On Leave

Beth Burch

LT 1308

Monday and Wednesdays:
 3-4 pm or by appointment

Dina Danon

LT 1316

On Leave

Randy Friedman

LT 1312

Wednesdays: 9-11 am or by appointment

Gina Glasman

LT 1303

Fridays: 1-2 pm or by appointment

Douglas Jones

LT 1314

Monday and Wednesdays:
 3:30 - 5 pm or by appointment

Jonathan Karp

LT 1309

Wednesdays: 1-2 pm or by appointment

Shay Rabineau

LT 1317

Tuesdays: 3-5 pm
 Thursdays: 3-5 p or by appointment

Orly Shoer

LT 1302

Monday: noon to 1pm
Tuesdays and Thursdays:
11:35 am to 12:30 pm or by appointment

Lior Libman

LT 1315

On Leave

 

Staff

Kierstin Luschwitz
Administrative Assistant
Phone: 607-777-3070
Office: LT 1307
Email: klusch@binghamton.edu

 

Faculty

Click Image to visit the faculty page

Allan Arkushallan
Professor of Judaic Studies and History
Ph.D. Brandeis University 
Modern Jewish Intellectual History
Office: LT 1305
Email: aarkush@binghamton.edu

 

burchC. Beth Burch
Professor of Judaic Studies
Ph.D. Purdue University
Jewish American Literature
Faculty Webpage

 

DinaDina Danon
Assistant Professor of Judaic Studies
Ph.D. Stanford University 
Sephardi Jewry, Modern Jewish History
Office: LT1410
Email: ddanon@binghamton.edu

 

RandyRandy L. Friedman, Chair
Associate Professor of Judaic Studies and Comparative Literature and Director, Center for Israel Studies 
Ph.D. Brown University
Philosophy of Religion, American Philosophy, Modern Jewish Thought 
Office: LT 1306
Email: rfriedman@binghamton.edu

Faculty Webpage

 

GinaGina Glasman
Lecturer
MA, Columbia University, MA Jewish Theological Seminary 
Yiddish and Literature
Office: LT 1303
Email: gglasman@binghamton.edu

 

Lior Libman
Libman
Assistant Professor of Israel Studies 
Ph.D. Hebrew University
Modern Hebrew Literature, Israeli Literature, Kibbutz and Socialist-Zionism, Cultural History, Critical Theory 
Office: LT 1315
Email: llibman@binghamton.edu

 

Shay Rabineau Rabineau
Assistant Professor of Israel Studies 
Ph.D. Brandeis University 
History of Modern Israel
Email: rabineau@binghamton.edu

 

GinaOrly Shoer
Lecturer
Hebrew
Office: LT 1302
Email: oshoer@binghamton.edu

 

KarpJonathan Karp, Director of Undergraduate Studies
Associate Professor of Judaic Studies and History

Ph.D. Columbia University 
Jewish Economic and Cultural History, Christian-Jewish Relations 
Office: LT 1411
Email: jkarp@binghamton.edu

 

Affiliated Faculty 

Bar-OnBat-Ami Bar On
Professor of Philosophy and Women's Studies
Director of the Institute for Advanced Studies in the Humanities
Ph.D. Ohio State University
Political Violence, Political Theory, Feminist Theory
Office: LT 1202
Email

 

Dr. Paul-William Burch
Holocaust and Post-Holocaust Literature
Phone: 427-9653
Office: Academic B 130-A
Email: pburch@binghamton.edu

 

KarpDouglas Jones
Visiting Assistant Professor of Religious Studies
Ph.D. University of Iowa
European Reformation, 16th and 17th Century England, Religious Dissent, Methods in the Study of Religion
Office: LT 1409
Email: dfjones@binghamton.edu

 

KirschenBryan Kirschen
Assistant Professor of Hispanic Linguistics
Department of Romance Languages and Literatures
Ph.D. UCLA
Sociolinguistics, Contact Linguistics, Judeo-Spanish and Spanish Linguistics
Office: LT 615
Email

 

KrasnoJonathan Krasno
Associate Professor of Political Science
Ph.D. University of California, Berkeley 
Public Opinion, Congressional Elections, Campaigns and Campaign Financing and Jewish Political Participation
Email

 

KrasnoLiz Rosenberg
Professor of English and Creative Writing

 

SchoolKent F. Schull
Associate Professor
Ph.D., UCLA
Ottoman History, Modern Middle East History, Crime & Punishment, Islamic Criminal Law, Muslims in North America & Europe
Office: LT 802
Phone: (607) 777-6202

 
 

Last Updated: 2/3/17