Academic Calendar

Binghamton University operates on a year-round schedule that includes a fall and spring semester, as well as winter and summer sessions.

Summer 2022
Tue May 31
Summer Session on-campus session 1 begins
Fri Jul 01
Summer Session 1 ends
Mon Jul 04
Summer Session 2 begins
Mon Jul 11
Summer Session on-campus session 2 begins
Fri Aug 12
Summer session on-campus session 2 ends
Fall 2022
Thu Aug 18 - Sat Aug 20
New Student Move-in and Welcome Program
Fri Aug 19 - Sun Aug 21
Returning Student Move-in
Tue Aug 23
Classes begin
Mon Sep 05
No classes (Labor Day)
Tue Sep 06
Monday classes meet (not Tuesday classes)
Tue Sep 06
Add/Drop Deadline
Mon Sep 26 - Tue Sep 27
No classes (Rosh Hashanah)
Wed Sep 28
Academic Assessment Period from 9/28 - 9/30
Fri Sep 30 - Sun Oct 02
Family weekend
Tue Oct 04
Classes dismiss at 1 p.m. (Yom Kippur)
Wed Oct 05
No classes (Yom Kippur)
Fri Oct 07 - Sun Oct 09
Homecoming weekend
Thu Oct 20 - Sun Oct 23
No classes (fall break)
Mon Oct 24
Classes resume
Fri Oct 28
Grade Option Change deadline 4:30pm
Fri Oct 28
Course Withdrawal deadline
Wed Nov 23 - Sun Nov 27
No classes (Thanksgiving break)
Wed Nov 23
Residence halls close at 10 a.m.
Sun Nov 27
Residence halls open at 2 p.m.
Mon Nov 28
Classes resume
Fri Dec 09
Last day of classes
Sat Dec 10 - Sun Dec 11
Reading days
Mon Dec 12 - Fri Dec 16
Final examinations
Sat Dec 17
Residence halls close at 10 a.m.
Winter 2023
Mon Dec 19
Winter session begins
Sat Dec 24 - Mon Jan 02
No classes (winter break)
Tue Jan 03
Classes resume (winter session)
Fri Jan 13
Winter session ends
Spring 2023
Sat Jan 14
Residence halls open for new-to-Binghamton University students only
Sun Jan 15
Residence halls open to all students
Tue Jan 17
Classes begin
Mon Jan 30
Add/Drop Deadline
Tue Feb 21
Academic Assessment Day
Thu Mar 02 - Sun Mar 05
No classes
Fri Mar 17
Course Withdrawal deadline
Fri Mar 17
Grade Option Change deadline 4:30pm
Sat Apr 01 - Mon Apr 10
No classes (Passover/Easter/spring break)
Sat Apr 01
Residence halls close at 10 a.m.
Mon Apr 10
Residence halls open at 10 a.m.
Tue Apr 11
Classes resume
Wed Apr 12
Monday classes meet (not Wednesday classes)
Tue May 02
Friday classes meet (not Tuesday classes)
Thu May 04
Last day of classes
Fri May 05
Final examinations
Sat May 06 - Sun May 07
Reading days
Mon May 08 - Thu May 11
Final examinations
Thu May 11 - Fri May 12
Senior Days
Fri May 12
Residence halls close for non-seniors at 10 a.m.
Fri May 12 - Sun May 14
Commencement ceremonies
Mon May 15
Residence halls close for seniors at 10 a.m.