Working Groups

In preparation for creating the Self-Study Report, Binghamton has established a Middle States Self-Study Steering Committee and nine Working Groups. Groups #I-VII each represent one of the Middle States standards. Two additional Working Groups have been created to collect all evidence of University’s compliance with federal, state, SUNY, and institutional rules (#VIII) and to be responsible for the collection, organization, publication, and maintenance of our Evidence Inventory throughout the reaccreditation process (#IX).

With the exception of Working Groups #VIII and #IX, each Working Group is co-chaired by a member of the faculty and a member of university leadership. These Co-Chairs collectively make up the Steering Committee.

The Co-Chairs of the Working Groups were invited to participate by the Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs and Provost, Donald G. Nieman, after consultation and agreement with Faculty Senate leadership. It was Provost Nieman’s design to have the Working Groups be co-chaired by a member of the faculty as well as an administrator.

Pamela Smart, Associate Professor, Harpur College of Arts and Sciences; Michael McGoff, Senior Vice Provost and Chief Financial Officer; and Nasrin Fatima, Associate Provost for Institutional Research, Effectiveness and Planning will serve as Co-Chairs of the Steering Committee.

*Working Group II - Christopher Governanti, Officer, Binghamton Police Department and Liaison to University Police Department