Information Technology Services Governance

ITS Governance and Committees

Please click here for POLICIES Directory.

2/02/2022 NOTE: This page is currently being updated

Instructional and Educational Technology Committee (IETC)

1. to advise the Faculty Senate, the Chief Information Officer for Information Technology Services - ITS, and the administration on matters of The Technology Hub policy and administration, and

2. to serve as a liaison between the faculty and the Technology Hub.

The Academic Computing and Educational Technology Committee is a Joint Committee between the Provost and the Faculty Senate as described in Article IV, Title B. 2. of the Faculty Bylaws.

The Academic Computing and Educational Technology Committee consists of fourteen members total, the Provost who is Chair, the Vice Provost for Administration, the Associate Vice President for Computing and Educational Technology, seven faculty drawn from various schools and the Library, two additional members chosen by the Provost, a graduate student, and an Undergraduate Student.

Chair: Donald Nieman, Provost
Chair: Donald Loewen, Provost ex-officio member
Niyazi Bodur, CIO
David Schuster, University Libraries
Kartik Gopalan, Watson/Computer Science
Tongshu Ma, SOM
Yvonne Johnston, Decker School of Nursing
Dikran Karagueuzian, Harpur/Science and Math/Mathematics
Kenneth Chiu, Watson/Computer Science
Pamela Mischen, President ex-officio member
James Pitarresi, Provost ex-officio member
John Santore, Undergraduate student
Nehel Rajendra Pawar, Graduate student
Andrew Tucci (non-voting)
Michael Allington (non-voting)

Information Technology Task Force formed

Binghamton University President Harvey Stenger has established an Information Technology Task Force to guide the University as it develops a proactive and adaptive security system that will minimize security exposures and provide a secure backup system to protect critical information moving forward. The task force is co-chaired by Vice President for Operations JoAnn Navarro and Vice President for Research Bahgat Sammakia, and begins meeting this month. It will provide regular updates to Stenger with recommendations expected in early spring.

Members of the task force include:
Eric Backlund, director of risk management and administrative compliance

Michael Behun, chief information security officer

Brice Bible, vice president and chief information officer, University at Buffalo

Niyazi Bodur, associate vice president and chief information officer

Kevin Boettcher, Professional Staff Senate representative/research development specialist

Patrick Collette, web programmer/developer, communications and marketing

Scott Craver, Faculty Senate representative/associate professor of electrical and computer engineering

Katie Ellis, senior director of communications and marketing

Jim Huth, campus auditor

Don Kunkel, Watson College director of information technologies

Oren Levi, research advancement information services manager

Carl Lipo, professor of anthropology and environmental studies/associate dean, Harpur College

Pam Mischen, faculty advisor to the president

Jeffrey Mitchell, senior director of advancement information technology

David Schuster, interim associate University librarian for technical services, technology and special collections

Brandy Smith, Fleishman Center senior assistant director for operations and data

Ping Yang, associate professor of computer science