Our Faculty

headshot of Bahgat G. Sammakia

Bahgat G. Sammakia

Director of CHIRP at Binghamton University; Distinguished Professor; Vice President for Research; Dir of CHIRP at Binghamton Univ; Center Director of ES2; Director, S3IP; Center Director of ES2; Vice President for Research; Director, S3IP

Center for Heterogeneous Integration Research in Packaging (CHIRP); Mechanical Engineering; Center for Energy- Smart Electronic Systems (ES2); Research, Office of the Vice President for; S3IP – Small Scale Systems Integration and Packaging


Bahgat Sammakia, a SUNY distinguished professor of mechanical engineering, is the vice president for research at Binghamton University, the State University of New York.

He is the founding director of S3IP, a New York State Center of Excellence at Binghamton University, the center director of the Energy Efficient Electronic Systems Center, an NSF IUCRC founded in 2011 with a focus on reducing the energy consumed by data centers around the world and the director of the Center for Heterogeneous Integration Research in Packaging (CHIRP) at Binghamton University.

Sammakia served as the interim president of SUNY Polytechnic Institute from December 2016 to June 2018. He is a fellow of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers, the National Academy of inventors, and the IEEE. Sammakia holds 21 U.S. patents and has published more than 250 peer-reviewed technical papers. Sammakia, who received the SUNY Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Scholarship and Creative Activities in 2010, was honored with the 2010 ITherm Achievement Award for his contributions to the field of semiconductor thermal management. Sammakia earned his bachelor’s degree from the University of Alexandria in Egypt and his master’s and doctoral degrees from the University at Buffalo.

A former IBM senior technical staff member/project manager and lab director at Endicott location, Sammakia joined Binghamton’s faculty in 1998.


  • Vice President for Research at Binghamton University
  • Distinguished SUNY Professor of Mechanical Engineering
  • Center Director of the Energy-Smart Electronic Systems Center (ES2), an NSF IUCRC
  • Founding Director of S3IP, a New York State Center of Excellence, Binghamton University
  • Director of the Center for Heterogeneous Integration Research in Packaging (CHIRP) at Binghamton University
  • Former interim President of SUNY Polytechnic Institute
  • Former IBM senior technical staff member/project manager and lab director at Endicott location

Google Scholar


  • BS, University of Alexandria
  • MS, PhD, State University of New York at Buffalo

Research Interests

  • Heat Transfer
  • Electronics Packaging
  • Thermal Management of Data Centers
  • Heterogeneous Integration Research


  • Received the 2020 Heat Transfer Memorial Art Award by The American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME).
  • Appointed as a Fellow of the National Academy of Inventors (2016).
  • Winner of the InterPACK Achievement Award (2015) which is bestowed once every two years at the biannual ASME InterPACK Conference for demonstrated excellence and international recognition in the area of research and development related to electronic packaging, as well as service to the technical community at large.
  • Elevated to Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) Fellow in 2013.
  • 2012 Significant Contributor Award from Semi-Therm, for contributions furthering the development and validation of thermal simulation and methodologies, advancing the thermal analysis and control of electronic equipment and promoting an appreciation and understanding of the importance of thermal management in electronic systems and assemblies.
  • Promoted to Distinguished SUNY Professor in 2011.
  • Recognized by the ASME for services in advancing the engineering profession by serving as Program Chair for InterPACK 2011.
  • 2010 Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Scholarship and Creative Activities.
  • 2010 ITherm (Intersociety (ASME and IEEE) Conference on Thermal and Thermomechanical Phenomena in Electronic Systems) Achievement Award, June 2010. This given once every two years to internationally recognized leaders in the area of thermal management in electronic systems.
  • FlexTech Alliance 2009 “Technology Leadership in Education” Awarded to Bahgat Sammakia, James Sturm (Princeton University), Christopher Ober (Cornell University) and Mark Poliks (Endicott Interconnect Technologies).
  • Outstanding Researcher Scholar; awarded by the Research Foundation of State University of New York, April 14th 2008.
  • Received the 2007 American Society of Mechanical Engineering Division award for the Electronics Packaging and Photonics Division (EPPD) for Excellence in the Area of Thermal Management of Electronic Systems.
  • Appointed as IEEE CPMT Society Board of Governors, member at large, 2006-07.
  • Received the ASME-K16 Committee on Heat Transfer of Electronics and the Electronic and Photonic Packaging Division Clock Award for Outstanding and Continuing Contributions to the Science and Engineering of Heat Transfer in Electronics, 2004.
  • State University of New York Partners in Excellence Award, recognized by the Chancellor for work founding the NY High Technology Commercialization Center in the area of Small Scale Systems Integration and Packaging, 2004.
  • State University of New York Chancellor’s Promising Inventor Award for novel approaches in thermal management-using nano-structured materials and the invention of thin bilayer coatings for electronics, 2003.
  • State University of New York Chancellor’s Award for Outstanding Contributions to Research, 2002.
  • Motorola award, “Silver Quill Award,” for joint publication of the Mechanical Engineering Handbook CRCnetBASE, 2001.
  • Received IBM stock options, 1997 and 1998 for outstanding management.
  • “IBM Blue Chip Award for Top Performers,” 1997.
  • Elected as an ASME Fellow, 1997.
  • Five IBM awards for publications excellence, 1987 to 1992.
  • Seven IBM awards for inventions filed, 1988 to 1996.
  • Four IBM awards for invention plateaus reached, 1988 to 1994.
  • Formal IBM division award for excellence in technical, people and business management, 1992.
  • Two IBM informal awards for excellence in technology development, 1996.
  • Post-Doctoral fellowship, University of Pennsylvania; funded by the Samuel Landis Gabel Endowment, 1982 to 1983.
  • Member of Tau Beta Pi Engineering Honor Society.