Rental of 15 passenger vans is not allowed under any circumstances - including rental with removal of back seats. This is in response to the SUNY-Central University advisory of the potential for life threatening situations involving 15 passenger vans. This advisory stems from the National Traffic Safety Administration warning titled 'Rollover Propensity Of Fifteen Passenger Vans Due To The Static Stability Factor."
What You Should Know About Daily (Under 30 Days) Vehicle Rental
- The current New York State Passenger Vehicle Rental Contractors for Broome County
- Enterprise Rent-A-Car, 3101 Stewart Road, Vestal, NY 13850, telephone 607-797-0900, option 4 OR * to speak to a local representative. NYS Contract# PS65506, BU Account Number for direct bill rentals with PO#: 29ABUB. BU Account Number for rentals with personal or company credit card: XZ29174.
- Hertz Car Rental, 2520 Vestal Parkway East, Vestal, NY 13850, telephone 607-729-2406. NYS Contract#
There is a special department at Hertz to handle billing disputes. These disputes need to be received within the same month of the rental. Please contact email@example.com or (877)654-6600.
- If booking online at www.enterprise.com, enter the appropriate Corporate Discount code in the box titled "Corporate Account." If you need a billing number, please contact the Business Office at 607-777-2037 or firstname.lastname@example.org.
- Reserve vehicles with Contractor at least 24 hours in advance of pick up time.Daily rental charge is calculated based on a continuous 24 hour period from the beginning to the end of the rental, not by calendar day. For example, a rental beginning (paperwork complete and car released) at 5:30 p.m. Monday and completed (vehicle returned) the following day at 5:30 p.m. is for one day. Roadside Assistance is available 24 hours per day, 7 days per week.
- The rental company must provide New York Statutory Liability limits of insurance in the amount of $25,000/$50,000/$10,000 plus statutory uninsured motorist and no fault coverage. When using Binghamton University, Business account, rates include full damage waiver and liability coverage for any rental in the US. Insurances NOT eligible for reimbursement are: Personal Accident Insurance (PAI), Personal Effects Protection (PEP) and Uninsured and Under insured Motorist Protection (UMP).In the event of a serious accident where the basic limits are exhausted, the state employee would be defended and indemnified under Public Officers Law, Section 17 subject to the conditions contained therein.
- If more than one employee will be driving the vehicle, the additional drivers must be listed on the rental contract; the maximum number of drivers per vehicle is six. The state should not pay additional charges for these drivers. Unauthorized persons should not be allowed to drive the vehicle.
- Those with Citibank Visa Travel cards do not have to purchase the damage waiver. Drivers are automatically covered. In the event of an accident, drivers must submit an online claim within 30 days of the accident.
If opting to use your personally owned vehicle when a rental vehicle is available, reimbursement will be the lesser of the rental vehicle rate or Personal Car Mileage rate.
Here’s a link to the NYS Office of General Services’ trip calculators https://ogs.ny.gov/procurement/trip-calculators. These calculators should be used when personal car mileage is being claimed in lieu of renting. If a rental vehicle is less expensive and personally owned vehicle is used, reimbursement will only be at the rental vehicle rate. Using any car class other than compact or standard will need to be justified.
New York State is protected for operation of vehicles owned, rented or used on its behalf, under our Self Insurance Program for auto liability.The Provinces of Ontario and Quebec have a reciprocity agreement exempting the State from the requirement for a Canadian Nonresident Inter provincial Motor Vehicle Insurance Card.
If an Employee is sued as a result of an accident in a rental vehicle, then the rental car company's insurance policy will defend and pay any award up to the limits carried by the rental car company. If the suit is for more than the coverage, the employee must request Public Officers Law Section 17 coverage from the Attorney General in writing within five days of the notification of the suit. If the employee was acting in the course of employment and the act was not malicious or intentional, the Attorney General may grant defense and indemnification for any award made.