Dean's Advisory Council

The Dean’s Advisory Council is a small group of Binghamton University alumni, friends and pharmacy leaders who assist the dean and key members of the school’s leadership in determining the direction and focus the School of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences is taking. The council aids in all aspects of accreditation, including participation in site visits and strategic planning. Council members are selected by the dean and represent a broad range of backgrounds and expertise.



Charles N. Aswad, MD

Executive Vice President Emeritus, Medical Society of the State of New York
Director, Healthcare Division Transnational Business Solutions

Richard Blansky, MD

Ascension Medical Group


Rajesh J. Davé, MD, MBA

Executive Vice President of Clinical Integration and Chief Medical Officer
United Health Services

Richard K. Merchant

Richard K. Merchant

Health WorkForce New York
Brooklyn-Queens-Long Island Area Health Education Center
Central New York Area Health Education Center

Northern Area Health Education Center


Michelle Schwartz BSN '76, MPP/MPH

Chair, Advisory Board Goldman School of Public Policy, UC Berkeley
Chair, American Friends of Jordan River Village