About Watson

The Thomas J. Watson School of Engineering and Applied Science provides a top-ranked engineering and computer science education in upstate New York. Our exceptional faculty members are both innovative researchers and supportive professors. 

Students come to the Watson School from all over the world and represent a wide range of backgrounds and interests. They graduate with broad-based skills and the entrepreneurial spirit to succeed in fields ranging from mechanical engineering to hospital operations to the law. 

We are in the high-tech heart of upstate New York state with industry partnerships, class projects and internship opportunities that provide a wealth of hands-on experience for graduate and undergraduate students alike.

  • Official Mission Statement

    The mission of the Watson School is to provide education and research in the broad field of engineering and applied science. To fulfill this mission, the School will:

    • offer baccalaureate,master's and doctoral programs that prepare graduates for employment in the technical professions and combine
      • a firm grounding in fundamentals,
      • elements of practical application and
      • an appreciation for liberal learning.
    • conduct basic and applied research which expands the technical knowledge base and advances industrial practice.
    • provide support for the economic development of the State of New York.
    • ensure that its programs are accessible to the widest possible range of individuals and institutions.
    • work with industry and community partners, foster participation and representation from traditionally underrepresented groups in technical research and education.
    • support the profession of engineering through continuing education opportunities for practicing professionals.
  • Accreditation

    The Bachelor of Science programs in Biomedical Engineering, Computer Engineering, Electrical Engineering, Industrial and Systems Engineering, and Mechanical Engineering are accredited by the Engineering Accreditation Commission of ABET, http://www.abet.org/.

    The Bachelor of Science program in Computer Science is accredited by the Computing Accreditation Commission of ABET, http://www.abet.org/.

Leadership and Dean’s Office Staff

Dr. Krishnaswami "Hari" Srihari

Dean and Distinguished Professor


Dean Hari

Distinguished Professor Krishnaswami “Hari” Srihari was appointed dean of the Thomas J. Watson School of Engineering and Applied Science at Binghamton University in June 2009. A prolific scientist, Srihari is known as an expert in many diverse aspects of electronics packaging and manufacturing. Over the past 17 years, he also has  pioneered research focused on the use of systems engineering principles in enhancing efficiency in health care delivery.  

Srihari joined the faculty of the Watson School in 1988, where he served as chairman of the Department of Systems Science and Industrial Engineering. 

He has played a key role in the creation of university-industry partnerships as director of the Watson Institute of Systems Excellence (WISE).

Srihari was appointed executive vice provost for international initiatives and chief global affairs officer for Binghamton University in June 2015.

He has published over 475 technical papers in leading peer-reviewed journals and at conferences, and authored over 1,000 technical reports. Srihari has directed and graduated over 160 MS graduate students and over 40 students at the PhD level.

Srihari has secured over $40 million in external sponsorship. Srihari earned the academic rank of distinguished professor. Granted only by SUNY trustees, it is the highest academic rank possible and is conferred on individuals who have achieved national or international prominence. Srihari was named an IIE Fellow in 2014. He has also been recognized with the Chancellor's Award for Excellence in Scholarship and Creative Activities, the University Award for Excellence in International Education, and APLU’s Michael P. Malone International Leadership Award.


  • University of Madras, India - Production engineering
  • Virginia Polytechnic University - MS 1985, PhD 1988

Research Interests

Electronics Packaging and Electronics Manufacturing, Health Care Delivery, Health Systems.

Dean’s Office Staff

headshot of Junghyun Cho

Junghyun Cho

Professor; Associate Dean for Research and Graduate Studies

Mechanical Engineering; Thomas J. Watson School of Engineering and Applied Science
headshot of Monica Majors

Monica Majors

Campus Director; Co-Principal Investigator; Director of Diversity Programs & Initiatives

Louis Stokes Alliance for Minority Participation (LSAMP) ; Science and Technology Entry Program (STEP); Thomas J. Watson School of Engineering and Applied Science; Upward Bound Math and Science (UBMS)
headshot of Mary Jo Kopyar

Mary Jo Kopyar

Staff Assistant, Dean's Office; Staff Assistant, Thomas J. Watson School of Engineering & Applied Science Dean's Office

Thomas J. Watson School of Engineering and Applied Science; Notaries Public

Department Chairs

headshot of Mohammad T. Khasawneh

Mohammad T. Khasawneh

Professor; Department Chair; Graduate Director; Professor; Associate Director

Systems Science and Industrial Engineering; Watson Institute for Systems Excellence (WISE)

Advisory Committee

  • Full List

    Amarjit Rai, Chair

    Director, Controls Engineering
    BAE Systems Electronic Systems

    John Contrata, MS ‘95

    Program Director
    Lockheed Martin Corp. - Owego

    Richard J. Brauer, PE

    McFarland Johnson

    John Carrigg

    President and CEO
    UHS Hospitals

    Koen Gieskes

    Chief Technology Officer
    Universal Instruments Corp. and Hover-Davis

    Ameya Hete, MS ’99

    Executive Director
    Valuable Technologies, Inc.

    Joseph M. Kolly ’88

    Chief Safety Scientist, National Highway Traffic Safety Administration

    Robert D. Kump ’83

    CEO Networks, AVANGRID

    Jennifer de Souza, BS ‘94

    Senior Director, Corporate Procurement & Strategic Alliances
    Raymond Corp.

    John Mirabito

    Chairman of the Board
    Mirabito Holdings Inc.

    Mary O'Malley-Trumble

    Senior Location Executive and Global STG Channels Sales Management Support Leader
    IBM Endicott

    Linda Shumaker, PE

    President and Managing Principal
    Shumaker Consulting Engineering and Land Surveying DPC

    Jim LeBlanc

    Director, Electronics R&D
    GE Global Research

    Steve Wozniak

    TeamWorld, Corporate Programs

    Robert Wuestner

    Senior Director, Military Systems
    Rockwell Collins