Alumni Awards Program

Alumni Association Special Recognition Awards

Each year, we recognize Binghamton alumni for their outstanding career achievements and service to the University and community. 

Nominations for our 2020 awards have closed. You can submit a nomination for one of the four signature awards described below (for the 2021 cycle). Our 2020 recipients will be honored Thursday, May 7, in New York City.



For all of the awards listed below, the nominee must be a graduate of Binghamton University. Self-nominations will not be considered. In addition, the nominee may not be a current member of the Binghamton University Alumni Association Board of Directors or currently employed by Binghamton University. Alumni can only be nominated for one award each year.

The Glenn G. Bartle Distinguished Alumnus/a Award recognizes and honors a graduate who has distinguished himself or herself since graduating from the University and serves as a memorial to Dr. Glenn G. Bartle, the first president of Harpur College. This award honors alumni who have rendered outstanding voluntary service to the Binghamton University community, while also exhibiting excellence in his or her field and/or service to society. This is the Alumni Association's highest honor.

The Alumni Achievement Award honors a highly distinguished alumnus or alumna who, over the course of a decade or more, has exemplified outstanding, significant professional achievement. Examples include serving in a highly visible senior leadership position within his or her field; participation on special committees, boards, governing or advisory roles related to his or her field; or considered to be an expert in his or her field as demonstrated by published works or serving frequently as a media interview source.

The Edward Weisband Distinguished Alumni Award for Public Service or Contribution to Public Affairs recognizes one alumnus or alumna each year whose life, work, career and contributions exemplify the highest standards of service and deepest dedication to the sustenance of the common good.

The Lois B. DeFleur Distinguished Young Alumni Award recognizes graduates from within the last 10 years and who are aged 35 years or younger who are established alumni leaders or demonstrate potential to become future leaders. Criteria include demonstrated leadership capability, substantial commitment to service of others, demonstration of potential for leadership in the long term, and substantial commitment to the University and Alumni Association.

Questions about our awards program should be directed to the Alumni Engagement office by email or by calling 607-777-2424.