Budget Review

Mission: The Budget Review Committee shall be charged with informing the Professional Staff Senate and its constituency about divisional and institutional budgets and representing professional staff concerns with regard to campus financial policies. This shall take the form of hosting division leaders at Budget Review Committee meetings and reporting on the impact of University and divisional finance decisions on professional staff.

For Academic year 2020/2021 the PSS Budget Review Committee will meet with five key speakers, or groups of speakers, between September and February and then we will release a report documenting our findings, particularly the effect of the current COVID-related financial crisis on Binghamton University professional staff.

We strongly believe that we need to create a document outlining the PSS BRC's findings for two reasons:
To inform - As we are all aware, New York State is feeling the financial impact of the Coronavirus. This has led to a massive budget gap and continuing rumors of furloughs and/or layoffs. It is our duty to provide an overview of the University's economic landscape as it relates to professional staff by sharing the factual information we learn from our meetings.
To be a voice - These are these turbulent times and we do not know how long the current situation will last or how it may strain the financial status of Binghamton University, SUNY, and New York State. To that end, we need to provide a voice for professional staff that will be heard when financial decisions are made that will affect our constituents and their employment.
The five speakers, or groups of speakers, that we plan to meet with are listed below.

Scheduled Meetings 2020-2020

All Meetings are from 11:00 am - 12:00 Noon

  • October  28 - Joe Shultz and Sara DeClemente-Hammoud (Human Resources) Join Zoom Meeting: https://binghamton.zoom.us/j/3279885322 - Meeting with Joe Shultz and Sara DeClemente-Hammoud Cancelled

Scheduled Meetings 2019-2020

All Meetings are from 11:00 am - 12:00 Noon

  • Sept. 25 - Founding Dean Gloria E Meredith, School of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences
  • Oct. 30 - Dean Elizabeth Chilton, Harpur College of Arts and Sciences
  • Nov. 20 - Dean Mario Ortiz, Decker College of Nursing and Health Sciences (DCONHS)
  • Dec. 30 - No meeting (curtailment period)
  • Jan. 29 - John Koch, Interim Vice President for Advancement and Sheila Doyle, Executive Director of Binghamton University Foundation
  • Feb. 19 - Bahgat Sammakia, Vice President of Research and Paul Parker, Associate Vice President for Research Administration
  • April 23 - Brian Rose, Vice President for Student Affairs: @ Via Zoom: Join Zoom Meeting
  • April 29 - Don Nieman, Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs and Provost and Michael McGoff, Senior Vice Provost​ and CFO: Via Zoom Join Zoom Meeting
  • May 20 - JoAnn Navarro, Vice President for Operations: Join Zoom Meeting
  • June 24 - Wrap-up meeting


Committee Members

  • Nancy Baudendistel - Senior Budget and Finance Coordinator, Harpur College
  • Tammara A Behonick – Senior Assistant Dean, CCPA
  • Jennifer Bishop - Assistant Director, Transportation and Parking Services (TAPS)
  • Tracie J Conklin - Senior Assistant Dean of Administration and Finance, DCONHS
  • Susan Dingman - Training Associate, University Center for Training & Development
  • Patrick K Doyle - Public Labs System Administrator
  • Erin D Hornbeck - Assistant to the Chair, Systems Science and Industrial Engineering
  • Courtney Ignarri - Assistant Dean for Graduate Affairs
  • Michael Jacobson - Research Development Specialist, Office of Strategic Research Initiatives, Division of Research
  • Sarah E. Kane - Assistant Dean of Finance & Human Resources, Thomas J. Watson College of Engineering and Applied Science
  • Orrin Kenyon - Assistant Director for University Union Operations, Office of Dean of Students
  • Donald Kunkel - Watson Director of Information Technologies
  • Andrea MacArgel - Director of Instructional Design, Center for Learning and Teaching
  • Bob Mess- ITS Specialist, Watson School
  • Andrew Morris - CCPA Senior Associate Director of Enrollment & Recruitment
  • Beth Polzin - Program Coordinator, Translation Research and Instruction Program (TRIP)
  • Mary Petrosky - Architectural Designer/Capital Project Coordinator, Physical Facilities
  • Steve Seepersaud - Alumni Communications Manager, Office of Development
  • Rozemarijn Tarhule-Lips – Assistant Dean for Finance, Harpur Dean's Office
  • Brandy M Wrighter - Accountant (Library Budget Associate)