Search Target

Judaic Studies Faculty and Staff 

Chair

Professor Randy Friedman
Office: LT 1312
Phone: 607-777-2443
Email: friedman@binghamton.edu
Office Hours: Weds. 9am - noon, or by appointment

Undergraduate Director

Professor Jonathan Karp
Office: LT 1309
Phone: 607-777-3263
Email: jkarp@binghamton.edu
Office Hours: Weds. Noon - 1pm, or by appointment

Staff

Maja Dragojlovic
Office Assistant
Office: LT 1307
Phone: 607-777-3070
Emailmdragojl@binghamton.edu

Faculty

Allan Arkush
Professor of Judaic Studies and History
Modern Jewish Intellectual History
Office: LT 1306
Phone: 607-777-6156 ex #1
Email: aarkush@binghamton.edu
Faculty Webpage 
Research

C. Beth Burch
Professor of Judaic Studies
Jewish American Literature
Office: LT 1308
Phone: 607-777-6156 ex #2
Email: bburch@binghamton.edu
Faculty Webpage 
Research

Paul-William Burch
Adjunct Lecturer
Holocaust and Post-Holocaust Literature
Office: OH G42
Email: pburch@binghamton.edu
Faculty Webpage
Research

Dina Danon
Assistant Professor of Judaic Studies and History
Sephardi Jewry, Modern Jewish History
Office: LT 1316
Phone: 607-777-6156 ex #3
Email: ddanon@binghamton.edu
Faculty Webpage 
Research

Randy L. Friedman, Chair
Associate Professor of Judaic Studies and Comparative Literature
Director, Center for Israel Studies 
Philosophy of Religion, American Philosophy, Modern Jewish Thought 
Office: LT 1312
Phone: 607-777-2443
Email: friedman@binghamton.edu
Faculty Webpage 
Research

Gina Glasman
Lecturer
Yiddish and Literature
Office: LT 1303
Phone: 607-777-6156 ex #4
Email: gglasman@binghamton.edu 
Faculty Webpage

Rabbi Barbara Goldman-Wartell
Adjunct Lecturer
Office: Temple Concord
Email: bwartell@binghamton.edu 
Webpage

Assaf Harel
Assistant Professor of Israel Studies
Associate Director, Center for Israel Studies
Ethnography and anthropology of religion, messianism, and the settlement movements
Office: LT 1311
Phone: 607-777-6156 ex #5
Email: aharel@binghamton.edu
Faculty Webpage 
Research

Douglas Jones
Visiting Assistant Professor of Religious Studies
European Reformation, 16th and 17th Century England, Religious Dissent, Methods in the Study of Religion
Office: LT 1314
Phone: 607-777-6140
Email: dfjones@binghamton.edu 
Faculty Webpage
Research

Jonathan Karp, Director of Undergraduate Studies
Associate Professor of Judaic Studies and History
Jewish Economic and Cultural History, Christian-Jewish Relations
Office: LT 1309
Phone: 607-777-3263
Email: jkarp@binghamton.edu 
Faculty Webpage
Research

Michael Kelly
Visiting Assistant Professor of Judaic Studies and Comparative Literature
The social and religious history of the Mediterranean in Late Antiquity and Early Middle Ages, "Fall" of the Roman Empire, The relationship between history, law and literature, Philosophy of history / Historical Theory
Office: LT 1316
Email: mkelly@binghamton.edu

Lior Libman
Assistant Professor of Israel Studies and Comparative Literature
Associate Director, Center for Israel Studies
 
Modern Hebrew Literature, Israeli Literature, Kibbutz and Socialist-Zionism, Cultural History, Critical Theory 
Office: LT 1315
Phone: 607-777-6156 ex #6
Email: llibman@binghamton.edu 
Faculty Webpage
Research

Shay Rabineau 
Assistant Professor of Israel Studies
Associate Director, Center for Israel Studies
 
History of Modern Israel
Office: LT 1317
Phone: 607-777-6156 ex #7
Email: rabineau@binghamton.edu 
Faculty Webpage
Research

Orly Shoer
Lecturer
Hebrew
Office: LT 1302
Phone: 607-777-6156 ex #8
Email: oshoer@binghamton.edu 
Faculty Webpage

Affiliated Faculty 

Bat-Ami Bar On
Professor of Philosophy and Women's Studies
Director, The Institute for Advanced Studies in the Humanities

Political Violence, Political Theory, Feminist Theory
Office: LT 1202
Email: ami@binghamton.edu 
Webpage

Bryan Kirschen
Assistant Professor of Hispanic Linguistics
Department of Romance Languages and Literatures
Sociolinguistics, Contact Linguistics, Judeo-Spanish and Spanish Linguistics
Office: LN 2226
Email: kirschen@binghamton.edu

Jonathan Krasno
Associate Professor of Political Science 
Public Opinion, Congressional Elections, Campaigns and Campaign Financing and Jewish Political Participation
Office: LS G63
Phone: 607-777-2462
Email: jkrasno@binghamton.edu

Liz Rosenberg
Professor of English and Creative Writing
Office: TU 3E
Phone: 607-777-2574
Email: lrosenb@binghamton.edu

Kent F. Schull
Associate Professor
Ottoman History, Modern Middle East History, Crime & Punishment, Islamic Criminal Law, Muslims in North America & Europe
Office: LT 715
Phone: (607) 777-6202
Email: kschull@binghamton.edu

 

Last Updated: 10/16/18