Search Target

Judaic Studies Faculty and Staff 

Chair

Professor Randy Friedman
Office Hours: Weds 9am - Noon
LT 1312

Undergraduate Director

Professor Jon Karp
Office Hours: Weds 1- 2:30pm
LT 1309

Staff

familyMaja Dragojlovic
Administrative Assistant
Office: LT 1307
Phone: 607-777-3070
Emailmdragojl@binghamton.edu

Faculty

Allan Arkush
Professor of Judaic Studies and History
Ph.D. Brandeis University 
Modern Jewish Intellectual History
Office: LT 1306
Phone: 607-777-6156 ex #1
Email: aarkush@binghamton.edu

C. Beth Burch
Professor of Judaic Studies
Ph.D. Purdue University
Jewish American Literature
Office: LT 1308
Phone: 607-777-6156 ex #2
Faculty Webpage

Dina Danon
Assistant Professor of Judaic Studies
Ph.D. Stanford University 
Sephardi Jewry, Modern Jewish History
Office: LT 1316
Phone: 607-777-6156 ex #3
Email: ddanon@binghamton.edu

Randy L. Friedman, Chair
Associate Professor of Judaic Studies and Comparative Literature
Director, Center for Israel Studies 
Ph.D. Brown University
Philosophy of Religion, American Philosophy, Modern Jewish Thought 
Office: LT 1312
Phone: 607-777-2443
Email: friedman@binghamton.edu
Faculty Webpage

Gina Glasman
Lecturer
MA, Columbia University, MA Jewish Theological Seminary 
Yiddish and Literature
Office: LT 1303
Phone: 607-777-6156 ex #4
Email: gglasman@binghamton.edu

Assaf Harel
Assistant Professor of Israel Studies and Associate Director, Center for Israel Studies
Ph.D. Rutgers University
Ethnography and anthropology of religion, messianism, and the settlement movements
Office: LT 1311
Phone: 607-777-6156 ex #5
Email: aharel@binghamton.edu
Faculty Webpage

Jonathan Karp, Director of Undergraduate Studies
Associate Professor of Judaic Studies and History
Ph.D. Columbia University
Jewish Economic and Cultural History, Christian-Jewish Relations
Office: LT 1309
Phone: 607-777-3263
Email: jkarp@binghamton.edu

Lior Libman
Assistant Professor of Israel Studies and Associate Director, Center for Israel Studies 
Ph.D. Hebrew University
Modern Hebrew Literature, Israeli Literature, Kibbutz and Socialist-Zionism, Cultural History, Critical Theory 
Office: LT 1315
Phone: 607-777-6156 ex #6
Email: llibman@binghamton.edu

Shay Rabineau 
Assistant Professor of Israel Studies and Associate Director, Center for Israel Studies 
Ph.D. Brandeis University 
History of Modern Israel
Office: LT 1317
Phone: 607-777-6156 ex #7
Email: rabineau@binghamton.edu

Orly Shoer
Lecturer
Hebrew
Office: LT 1302
Phone: 607-777-6156 ex #8
Email: oshoer@binghamton.edu

Affiliated Faculty 

Bat-Ami Bar On
Professor of Philosophy and Women's Studies
Director of the Institute for Advanced Studies in the Humanities
Ph.D. Ohio State University
Political Violence, Political Theory, Feminist Theory
Office: LT 1202
Email: ami@binghamton.edu

Dr. Paul-William Burch
Holocaust and Post-Holocaust Literature
Office: OH G42
Email: pburch@binghamton.edu

David Fresco
Visiting Lecturer
Ladino Press, Jewish Institutions, Jews of the Ottoman Empire

Douglas Jones
Visiting Assistant Professor of Religious Studies
Ph.D. University of Iowa
European Reformation, 16th and 17th Century England, Religious Dissent, Methods in the Study of Religion
Office: LT 1314
Phone: 607-777-6140
Email: dfjones@binghamton.edu

Bryan Kirschen
Assistant Professor of Hispanic Linguistics
Department of Romance Languages and Literatures
Ph.D. UCLA
Sociolinguistics, Contact Linguistics, Judeo-Spanish and Spanish Linguistics
Office: LN 2226
Email: kirschen@binghamton.edu

Jonathan Krasno
Associate Professor of Political Science
Ph.D. University of California, Berkeley 
Public Opinion, Congressional Elections, Campaigns and Campaign Financing and Jewish Political Participation
Office: LS G63
Phone: 607-777-2462
Email: jkrasno@binghamton.edu

Liz Rosenberg
Professor of English and Creative Writing
Office: TU 3E
Phone: 607-777-2574
Email: lrosenb@binghamton.edu

Kent F. Schull
Associate Professor
Ph.D., UCLA
Ottoman History, Modern Middle East History, Crime & Punishment, Islamic Criminal Law, Muslims in North America & Europe
Office: LT 715
Phone: (607) 777-6202
Email: kschull@binghamton.edu

 

Last Updated: 3/13/18