President's Report Masthead
September 30, 2018

Data Science Working Group becomes University’s sixth Transdisciplinary Area of Excellence

Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs and Provost Donald Nieman has announced that, following extensive review, the Data Science Working Group became Binghamton University’s sixth Transdisciplinary Area (TAE) of Excellence in July. 

The newest TAE serves as a central hub for data-centered research. A collaborative group of data scientists and scholars from across campus who employ data analytics in their scholarship, members are at the leading edge of the data science revolution within their own disciplines and seek to foster collaboration on identification of significant problems, bridge between theory and applications, advance techniques to gather and interpret data, and address the urgent problems facing society.

A University selection committee had evaluated proposals for the sixth TAE, and found the Data Science Working Group’s achievements over the past year to be impressive.

“The committee was highly impressed with the broad and deep engagement your group achieved across the University, your potential for generating external funding for research and the added dimension that your group brings to research at Binghamton University,” Nieman wrote to Xingye Qiao, associate professor of mathematical sciences and chair of the Data Sciences Working Group. “I concur with the committee’s recommendation and look forward to working with you in the coming years to assure that your group is successful and enhances research at Binghamton University.”

Members of the Data Sciences TAE Steering Committee include:

• Manoj Agarwal, management
• John Bay, Watson School Dean’s Office
• Changqing Cheng, systems science and industrial engineering
• David Clark, political science
• Leon Cosler, health outcomes and administrative sciences
• Chengbing Deng, geography
• Kenneth Kurtz, psychology
• Lucky Mason-Williams, teaching, learning and educational leadership
• Anton Schick, mathematical sciences
• Andreas Pape, economics
• Xingye Qiao, chair; mathematical sciences
• James Sobel (biological sciences
• Nancy Um, art history
• Andy Merriwether, anthropology
• David Sloan Wilson, biological sciences and evolutionary studies
• Mark Zhang, computer science
• Ning Zhou, electrical and computer engineering